EP Review: Amoriello – Dear Dark (Ice Fall Records)

Ice Fall Records presents the latest offering from Amoriello. Dear Dark is a 5 track EP cassette release and is traditional heavy metal for fans of classic Judas Priest, early Queensryche, King Diamond, Savatage, Helloween, Sanctuary, and Crimson Glory.

Guitarist, Educator and children’s book author Thomas Amoriello has teamed up with special guest musicians on his second release. Dear Dark features vocals by Brazilian metal legend Carlos Zema of Immortal Guardian and formerly of Outworld on 4 out of the 5 tracks as well as an epic instrumental that includes guest guitar solos from Ronni LeTekro (TNT), Glen Drover (ex-Megadeth, Ex-KingDiamond), Alex Masi (ex-Metal Blade Records) and Toby Knapp (ex-Shrapnel Records).

The supporting rhythm section on the recording includes bassists James Amelio Pulli (Impellitteri) and Emilio Martinez (Yngwie Malmsteen), drummers Ken Stavropoulos (Cacophony) and BJ Zampa (Dokken, House of Lords) along with keyboardist Anthony Stahl.

Blending deep metal groove with the vocals of a powerhouse of clean heaviness, the title track easily gets the head nodding along. Amoriello showcasing the balance of traditional heavy metal with meaty riffing and an undercurrent of threat.

This Burning Evil builds on that, the slower tempo sounding positively evil before Thirty Four Strings of Evil ups the energy. Throw in a little bit of synth and a fiery guitar solo and we have the EP’s best track.

The eerie carnival music at the start of Magic Wand sets up another absolute banger from Amoriello. Unusual, weird but so damn memorable before it wraps up with a mellow ballad in Milan’s Dream that is incredibly sweet.

Amoriello – Dear Dark Full Track Listing:

1. Dear Dark
2. This Burning Evil
3. Thirty Four Strings of Fury
4. Magic Wand
5. Milan’s Dream


Website | Facebook | Twitter

Amoriello - Dear Dark (Ice Fall Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)