Album Review: Zealot Cult – Spiritual Sickness (Blood Harvest/Regain Records)

Hailing from the shores of Ireland, death metal band Zealot Cult’s highly anticipated debut album, Spiritual Sickness will be released on November 9th 2018. A joint release of Blood Harvest Records and Helter Skelter Productions, this is an album for fans of early Asphyx, early Pestilence, early Morgoth, and the likes.

Zealot Cult 2

Steeped in an old-school and hyper-aggressive death metal sound, Spiritual Sickness steps forth to demand every bit of your attention and it’s hard to ignore. A bloodying mess of raging riffing, crusted in bile vocals and horrid drum beats.

Every track follows a similar formula and it is one of aggression and noise. Zealot Cult have one gear and it’s set to highly aggressive. If you’re a fan of raw and old-school death then the Irish metallers will be right up your street. Repent in Flames, Left to Rot, Blades of Jihad…there are no surprises here. It’s no frills heaviness with one aim, to leave you a dribbling mess.

Something Zealot Cult manage when they’re throwing out such a high level of intensity in their music.

Zealot Cult 1

Zealot Cult – Spiritual Sickness Full Track Listing:

1. Spiritual Sickness
2. Sea of Suffering
3. Repent In Flames
4. Left to Rot
5. Blades of Jihad
6. Servi ad deum
7. Thy Will Be Done
8. In the Shadow of the Beast

You can order the album here and earlier Zealot Cult releases here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page.

Zealot Cult - Spiritual Sickness (Blood Harvest/Regain Records)
  • 7/10
    The Final Score - 7/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!