Album Review: Wilczyca – Wilczyca (Godz Ov War Productions)

No laws to abide by, no rules to follow – here is Poland’s Wilczyca, black metal at its purest! Their self titled album will be released on February 2nd 2020 via Godz Ov War Productions.

As rough as sandpaper rubbed over a raw wound, Wilczyca’s self titled album is a call back to the days of old within black metal. Gore covered horror, an uneven start that is more doom then black bleeds into a more familiar level of savagery on Na Przeklętej Ziemi.

An old-school production job makes Ego Memini Inferno all the more bile-inducing. The scale of Wilczyca’s evil beginning to be fully realised. Although, it hardly makes for a joyful listening experience. This is not something you listen to when you’re in a happy mood, it’s for bleak thoughts.

A short and more riff driven title track surprises before Burza and Rok Pierwszy delve deeply into Wilczyca’s bag ov horrible tricks. The latter once again taking the tempo down to doomier levels and creating an atmosphere of darkness and threat.

It’s good preparation for the grandeur of the more drawn out atmosphere of Przyjdź. At over eight minutes long, it’s easily the most enjoyable track on the album but also the one that sees the band step away from the roots of black metal. Somewhat of a contrast to what has been experienced throughout most of its run time. That it then runs out the clock with a couple of minutes of eerie noises and effects for Proch is even more head-scratching.

Certainly a record for the most ardent and hardcore black metal fan but Przyjdź might have the ‘trve’ type turning their noses up in disgust.

Wilczyca – Wilczyca Full Track Listing:

1. Na Przeklętej Ziemi
2. Ego Memini Inferno
3. Wilczyca
4. Burza
5. Rok Pierwszy
6. Przyjdź
7. Proch




Facebook | Godz Ov War Productions

Wilczyca - Wilczyca (Godz Ov War Productions)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
4 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!