Album Review: Whispering Sons – Several Others [PIAS] Recordings

Belgian five-piece Whispering Sons will release their much-anticipated second album “Several Others”.

Credit: Daniil Lavrovski

“Several Others” marks Whispering Sons first full-length release since their 2018 debut “Image”, which saw them garner early support at press and radio as well as tallying up millions of streams for their dark and unique blend of experimental and frenetic post-punk. Similarly, prior to lockdown, their infamously ferocious live shows had also seen them begin to firmly cement themselves as a must-see live band playing alongside the likes of The Murder Capital, Patti Smith, The Soft Moon and Croatian Amor, as well as touring across the UK and Europe with the likes of Editors.

June 18th, 2021 is the day and “Several Others” will be out via [PIAS] Recordings.

One listen of Several Others will tell you exactly what you need to know about Whispering Sons and why this album is so hotly anticipated. What we have here is a unique style of experimental avant-garde post punk that might very well be the most unique thing you hear this year. If that doesn’t get your musical taste buds salivating, then nothing will.

What really makes it sound so unique are the vocals of Fenne. Dark and low (contralto), it’s both captivating and uncomfortable if you’re not used to hearing this style. Of course, the vocals are just one part of the bigger picture and the rest of Whispering Sons’ artwork is quite something.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Instrumentally, we have deep and rumbling bass. Guitar rhythms and melodies that range from earnest and reassuring to cold and unsettling. Drums that add bulk to the rockier edge the band has. Put it all together and you have Several Others, ten tracks of constantly surprising and constantly interesting music. No two tracks sound the same and the exceptional flavour of what is on offer will surely mean everyone has their own personal favourites.

If you only have time to listen to a handful then the jerky guitar groove and catchy energy of Heat needs to be heard. As does the dark and melodious Screens or the drawn-out hum that builds to such a desperate sounding finish on Satanango. Just three taken from an album that, from beginning to end, stays with you long afterwards. There’s nobody quite like Whispering Sons and Several Others is confirmation of that.

Whispering Sons – Several Others Full Track Listing:

1. Dead End
2. Heat
3. (I Leave You) Wounded
4. Vision
5. Screens
6. Flood
7. Surface
8. Aftermath
9. Satantango
10. Surgery


Spotify | Facebook | Instagram |Twitter | YouTube

Whispering Sons - Several Others [PIAS] Recordings
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!