Album Review: Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats – Wasteland (Rise Above Records)

Formed in 2009, Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats are a mix of occult rock, stoner-doom from England. They have released five albums to date with their latest, Wasteland released on October 12th 2018 via Rise Above Records.

Deadbeats 2

Fuzzed out riffing, harmonious filtered vocals and mystic vibes are what greet you on the new Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats album with opener, I See Through You. A catchy start, the infusion of poppy melodies alongside the acid-washed stoner style isn’t bad. Easily digestible, as is Shockwave City. The Sabbath influences are clear here within the riffs and there is even a NWOBHM solo thrown in.

A hot start is halted for the nine-minute, No Return which throws out a repetitive riff that lacks a hypnotic effect. Instead, more likely to put you to sleep as it drones on and on. The gothic drift away in the final few minutes is quite memorable though.

Both Blood Runner and Stranger Tonight are shorter and pacier tracks which works far better for Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats. The increase in energy is welcome even if both tracks are unremarkable. A lot of the blame for that can be put on the frustrating production job. The band has always had a super-rough, fuzzy style of production but on their fifth, it might just be wearing thin. The effects covering the vocals are down-right annoying at times too.

The title track is another lengthy one but it fares far better thanks to the eerie melody. Although if it had just ended after a few minutes instead of changing direction, it would be more impressive.

Flawed. Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats’ Wasteland is a flawed album but does enough to make it a light recommendation. While Bedouin’s oddities fail to spark at the back end of the album, the closer Exodus is a highlight. Even the production isn’t as grating, the riffs really shine and the tone is deviously dark.

Deadbeats 1

Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats – Wasteland Full Track Listing:

1. I See Through You
2. Shockwave City
3. No Return
4. Blood Runner
5. Stranger Tonight
6. Wasteland
7. Bedouin
8. Exodus

[amazon_link asins=’B07GRRGWGL,B07H7NX7JS,B07H7Q6YH4,B07H7MZQFX’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’1141dc70-ce29-11e8-9553-41a830bab2e4′]

Wasteland is out now and be bought and streamed everywhere.

Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats - Wasteland (Rise Above Records)
  • 6/10
    The Final Score - 6/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!