Album Review: U.D.O. – Steelfactory (AFM Records)

After more than 40 years in the business and with a renowned breakthrough in the early 80’s with Accept behind him, as well as several million records sold worldwide, Udo Dirkschneider from Solingen/Wuppertal, Germany, is one of the biggest rock legends in the business. U.D.O. has enjoyed well over two decades in the spotlight. Regardless of changes in the metal scene or the U.D.O line-up, the band has never deviated from Dirkschneider’s vision of serving up traditional balls-to-the-wall, no-nonsense heavy metal.

U.D.O. will release their new album ‘Steelfactory’ on 31st August 2018 via AFM Records.

Steelfactory 2

Progressive metal, technical metal, blackened death metal, post-metal, dejent, post-hardcore, thrash metal…whatever genre you can think of, Steelfactory is none of those things. What it is, quite simply, is a heavy metal album. Nothing more and nothing less.

You can lump it in the ‘classic’ or ‘traditional’ camp but there is no getting away from the fact that the moment Tongue Reaper is unleashed the hairs on your body will rise as one. It calls to every single metal fan to dust off the leathers, patch jacket and bullet belts. Enjoy it for what it is. An uncomplicated heavy metal album.

It’s a pity that such a statement would actually put some people off. The likes of Keeper of my Soul, In the Heat of the Night and Blood on Fire isn’t the sound of a band trying to sound ‘old-school’ or trying to capture a time that is gone by. U.D.O. are every much as relevant with this release as Judas Priest are with Firepower.

Dripping in constant feel-good factor, One Heart One Soul, A Bite of Evil and and Rose in the Desert keep things strong in the latter half. Even though it does start to wear a little thin near the end. A track or two less and it would be a much more satisfying listen. Still, Steelfactory is a fun and enjoyable metal album that few would complain about if it was thrown on during a party.

Steelfactory 1

U.D.O. – Steelfactory Full Track Listing:

1. Tongue Reaper
2. Make the Move
3. Keeper of my Soul
4. In the Heat of the Night
5. Raise the Game
6. Blood on Fire
7. Rising High
8. Hungry and Angry
9. One Heart One Soul
10. A Bite of Evil
11. Eraser
12. Rose in the Desert
13. The Way

Steelfactory can be ordered via all major stores and will be available via all major streaming services. Check out the video for Rising High below.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

U.D.O. - Steelfactory (AFM Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
4 (1 vote)