Album Review: Thanatopsis – Initiation (Extreme Metal Music)

California’s Thanatopsis will release their debut album “Initiation” on October 23rd 2020 to follow their four independently released demos between 1993-1997.

After a hiatus, 3/4 of the band has reunited along with the new addition of drummer Jason Borton (Jungle Rot, Arkaik) to offer their debut full-length, which features past recordings that are given a second life and a chance to be heard by a broader audience along with new unheard material.

The band comments:

It has been a long time in the making and we are very excited to present to the world the first official full-length Thanatopsis album “Initiation”. This album contains timeless songs that fans, both old and new, will appreciate. Bringing our sound to the masses has been a collective dream of ours for a long time. In a scene that is saturated with bands, we are proud to release something that is unique in character to the metal world at large.

Hearty congratulations to Thanatopsis on the release of their debut. One of the positives of 2020 has been rise of, and release, of band music that most thought would never see the light of day for one reason or another. While much of this album isn’t brand new, it’s a fresh and modern version which helps this sort of death/thrash sound timeless.

This is a head-banger in every sense of the word. From the squealing guitars and frantic riffing, to the blasting gargantuan thump of the drums and bass, to the fiery and unforgiving vocals, Thanatopsis nail the the heavy elements flawlessly. It’s strong from the off but really comes to life with the brilliant fury of Consequence. The first proper showcase of how Thanatopsis can go deeper and further with this neck-wrecking sound.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Although it’s not alone as later Your Demise has Thanatopsis absolutely slaying it with the riffs and a blazing solo.

Overall though, we have eight tracks of punchy and meaty metal, there’s a lot of juiciness to what’s on the bone of Initiation. Thanatopsis fill the plates up high and make sure, no-one is going hungry.

Thanatopsis – Initiation Full Track Listing:

1. Age of Silence
2. Embodiment
3. Consequence
4. Malfated
5. Initiation
6. Your Demise
7. Grim
8. Suffer System


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Extreme Metal Music

Thanatopsis - Initiation (Extreme Metal Music)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
4.3/10 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!