Album Review: Skam – The Sound of Disease (Redefining Darkness Records)

Skam: (noun) Great dishonor, shame, or humiliation.

Skam is an act of catharsis through music. Its main purpose is the releasing of stress while lamenting the world’s declining mental health and the obscene amount of suicides caused by it. The brutality of grindcore and death metal are mixed with influences and energy of D-Beat Punk to achieve this purging. The Sound of Disease is out on April 3rd 2020 via Redefining Darkness Records.



Be under no illusions, Skam’s version of cathartic purging is as extreme as you can get in musical form. A 13-track album that lasts less then 30 minutes as the Swedish noise-mongers express themselves in desensitising fashion.

Their technique is based solely on how fast and how heavy they can go. There’s no stopping for a breather here, it’s volatile stuff from the first second to the very last. This does naturally bring about some level of numbness.

This kind of consistent and constant savagery will inevitably do that but snap out of it and really listen. What you’ll find is depth to the guitars, a rhythm to the drums and a measured point to the vocals. It’s this that makes The Sound of Disease a worthy extreme listen no matter how you wish to express yourself.

Skam – The Sound of Disease Full Track Listing:

1. Have You Tried Not Thinking About It
2. When Liquid is the New Solid
3. Passenger of Decline
4. Millstone Gallows
5. Shit Out of Luck
6. Prison of Skin
7. A Stray in the Life
8. Echoes and… (Instrumental)
9. Sounds of a Disease
10. Learning to Die
11. Used, Defiled, Expended
12. The Face of Decadence
13. Sentencing


Bandcamp | Facebook


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Skam - The Sound of Disease (Redefining Darkness Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)