Album Review: Septagon – Apocalyptic Rhymes (Cruz Del Sur Music)

Thrash and power metal unite like never before in a socio-political firestorm that tests the mind and bangs the head! Featuring members of Atlantean Kodex, Lanfear and Them, Septagon pushes subgenre boundaries with technical, yet catchy songs on their new album, Apocalyptic Rhymes out on November 9th 2018 via Cruz Del Sur Music.

Septagon 2

The spoken word description of the apocalypse and whine of guitars in opener, The End prepares you for a power metal offering but when The Weight of the World kicks in, we’re looking squarely at thrash. Quality thrash metal but it’s the vocals that really give it a classic/power vibe.

Heavy enough to get the blood rushing to the head but with a clean sound that makes it far more enjoyable. A rabble-rousing start built on a chunky beat leads into the classic metal stylings of Home, Sweet Hell with a solid guitar solo to help cap it off.

With thrash fury, Septagon fire off a handful of hard head-bangers in the title track and Make a Stand. The impact of the guitars alone is enough to knock your boots off but Septagon are just getting started.

The Unfathomable Evil is short, punchy and catchy. P.O.T.U.S.A. is a politically charged number with lyrics that pull no punches and Nothingness Awaits is all about pace, galloping drums and riffs.

A quality album that grows in strength as it goes on closes out with slow groove and enough power in the riffs to shake the earth to its core on Sunset Blood.

Septagon 1

Septagon – Apocalyptic Rhymes Full Track Listing:

1. The End
2. The Weight of the World
3. Home, Sweet Hell
4. Apocalyptic Rhymes
5. Make A Stand
6. The Unfathomable Evil
7. P.O.T.U.S.A.
8. Cosmic Outrage
9. Nothingness Awaits
10. Sunset Blood

You can order the album via Cruz Del Sur Music here and via Septagon’s Big Cartel here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking Septagon’s Facebook Page, checking out their website, following them on Instagram, Soundcloud and subscribing to their YouTube Channel.

Septagon - Apocalyptic Rhymes (Cruz Del Sur Music)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)