Album Review: Pop Evil – Skeletons (MNRK Heavy)

Hard rock group Pop Evil will release their new album, Skeletons, on the 17th of March 2023 via MNRK Heavy.

Discussing the album, frontman Leigh Kakaty said:

This is about us as a band stripping everything down to the bones. It’s more up-tempo, it’s got bigger riffs, and we’re trying to capture the energy of our live show.

But it’s also a positive message, I know it’s a morbid visual, but behind every skeleton, there’s a story and something worth talking about. Overall, it’s about looking at something in a positive way. And I’m excited for everyone to hear that.

Pop Evil couldn’t have started this new album off in better fashion. The short piece of atmosphere that is Arrival leads into Paranoid (Crash & Burn), where a killer riff sets up a crunchy alt-heavy head-banger. One with a stupid amount of catchy groove and featuring an anthemic chorus.

This is how you get the blood pumping. Especially when Pop Evil keep the energy up with the passionate Circles and the pounding blend of alt-heaviness and electronica excitement that is Eye of The Storm. Pop Evil’s brand of music is a constant source of thrills and chills, and it’s clear already that this album will have a stupid amount of widespread appeal.

More proof needed? Try the pop-infused rocking Sound of Glory and be prepared for something a bit different but ridiculously catchy. Then there’s the bluesy and country twist that comes from the title track. Before Worth It and Who Will We Become? continue the trend of believable, infectious, and varied alt-rock tunes. Pop Evil still keeping the interest high, even when they hit a few more uniquely melodic highs and lows here.

It’s not over yet though and the final three tracks all feature some stellar guests. Starting with Blake Allison of Devour the Day on the track Wrong Direction. A track that brims with life, the groovy riffs and erratic tempo delight, but it’s the chorus that really hits. Then it’s Ryan Kirby of Fit For A King who fits on the faster and more aggressive sounding Dead Reckoning perfectly. Before the solo-artist Zillion helps Pop Evil close out this banger of an album with a heady blend of modern-sounding rock. A big anthem to close out an album packed with them.

Buy Me a Coffee at

How good is this? Pop Evil have well and truly delivered on this new album.

Pop Evil – Skeletons Track Listing:

1. Arrival
2. Paranoid (Crash & Burn)
3. Circles
4. Eye of The Storm
5. Sound of Glory
6. Skeletons
7. Worth It
8. Who Will We Become?
9. Wrong Direction (Feat. Blake Allison of Devour the Day)
10. Dead Reckoning (Feat. Ryan Kirby of Fit for A King)
11. Raging Bull (Feat Zillion)




  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Pop Evil - Skeletons (MNRK Heavy)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
5.95/10 (4 votes)