Album Review: PelleK – Christmas With PelleK (Self Released)

Released in 2013, Christmas With PelleK is an eight track Christmas songs covers album from PelleK.

PelleK 2

We’ve covered PelleK’s work before. The man’s talented & having fun with rock & metal. We can get into him rocking up movie/TV soundtracks & 80’s classics as these are things that can at least be called unique. What isn’t so unique though are Christmas covers so it’s with a sense of trepidation that we hit play on Christmas With PelleK.

There was no real reason to worry though as the talented guitarist turns Twelve Days Of Christmas into a power metal epic with a light dusting of cheese. It’s an entertaining start that does exactly what is says on the tin, metals up Twelve Days Of Christmas.

Unfortunately O Christmas Tree doesn’t quite follow it up. A vocal/piano intro only serves to expose what isn’t a great voice at times & the off-key melody is a bit frustrating. By time it kicks in to a harder rock sound, the damage is done.

It’s not the only one to suffer though. Deck the Halls is a bit pants even if the galloping metal beat sounds decent enough. Jingle Bells offers absolutely nothing fresh or interesting to a song that has been ‘rocked/metaled’ up so many times. As for Come All Ye Fathful? The moment Twisted Sister rocked this it should have guaranteed no-one ever tried to cover it again. PelleK’s isn’t the worst but it’s so far from greatness.

Thankfully O Holy Night saves the album from completely jumping off the cliff. A wickedly soulful rendition that does an impressive job of giving it a speedy middle without losing the mournful melody.

Like many a Christmas covers album the final holiday-related track is Silent Night. A plain & uninspired version that can be at best called…sweet.

PelleK 1

PelleK – Christmas With PelleK Full Track Listing:

1. Twelve Days Of Christmas
2. O Christmas Tree
3. Deck the Halls
4. Beautiful Savior
5. Jingle Bells
6. O Holy Night
7. Come All Ye Faithful
8. Silent Night

Check it out yourself below via Apple Music.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

PelleK - Christmas With PelleK (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *