Album Review: On Hollow Ground – Blood Is Blood (Self Released)

On Hollow Ground continue their rising trajectory with the release of their engulfing new album, Blood Is Blood, out everywhere on Friday 17th July 2020.

Hailing from Leeds, and born in 2013, On Hollow Ground have consistently produced material, releasing three EPs, whilst touring the UK vigorously. This onslaught of releases and tours has paid dividends. To date, the northern crew have shared stages with the likes of Light The Torch, Martyr Defiled, Exist Immortal, Nexilva, InVisions, Cabin Boy Jumped Ship, Carcer City, Red Seas Fire, Shields and many more.

With influences panning from Born of Osiris, Emmure and Veil Of Maya, through to Grime and contemporary hip-hop, the energetic quintet have made strong waves on the scene.

Sometimes it is easy to sit back and hear just why a band is rising so quickly and steadily. In the case of On Hollow Ground, from the moment it kicks into its grubby, metalcore groove the signs are clear. This will have mass crossover appeal, taking advantage of contemporary times and distilling that into nine modern and fresh sounding songs.

Blending heaviness with plenty of groove, hardcore fury, hip-hop beats and electronica melodies creates a unique sound. One that is going to have plenty of detractors as well as enthusiasts.

It is a challenging listen and you’re undoubtedly never quite sure what On Hollow Ground will throw out next. Variety? Absolutely but not always something that sounds and feels like a winning formula. Although, that is almost certainly down to an individual’s taste.

On Hollow Ground – Blood is Blood Full Track Listing:

1. Our Lives
2. Broken
3. People Never Learn
4. Surviving Life
5. …And getting By
6. WMD (Wasteman Down)
7. Blood Is Blood
8. Shut Down
9. Even Though

On Hollow Ground Links

Facebook | Instagram | Spotify | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

On Hollow Ground - Blood Is Blood (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 6/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)