Album Review: Nigredo – Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced (Transcending Obscurity Records)

From members of reputed bands like Ravencult, Embrace of Thorns and Dephosphorus, Greece’s Nigredo are changing the way we look at black metal. Whilst maintaining the rawness and intensity, they’re deftly incorporating elements of death and thrash metal and mangling them to suit their dark aesthetic.

Their new album, Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced will be released on April 15th 2018 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

The band had this to say about the album: “Saturnian forces rule over ‘Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced’ album and so, as the title implies, one should expect both physical extremity and mental violence manifested. Driven by our abstract vision of material and mental dissolution, we erased all traces of positiveness from the album’s content so rejoice in the collapse of all known things through feelings of total negativity and anguish.”

Nigredo 2

A dehumanising experience, Nigredo have a corrupting influence on the mind as they spit out black metal tinged with the forces of death & thrash. 8 tracks of mental abuse and anguish, Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced is an album that will haunt you. It will be waking you up in the middle of the night in a cold sweat.

The noise assault that is Necrolatry, Mental Glimpses At Cosmic Horrors, Sons Of Worthlessness and Raging Tides of Time offer more then your traditional black metal fury. It’s not lacking in fire nor is it lacking in intensity but it it is such a more refined product. The rawness of the production fits the tone of the band. Even the muddy drumming fit within the murkiness that Nigredo expel.

You’ll feel like you need a wash after listening to the album but like a happy dog, the second you get another chance to jump into the mud, you’re totally going too.

Nigredo 1

Nigredo – Flesh Torn – Spirit Pierced Full Track Listing:

1. Ten Repellent Antiforces
2. Necrolatry
3. Choronzon Possession
4. Mental Glimpses At Cosmic Horrors
5. Saturnian Death Cult video
6. Sons Of Worthlessness
7. Towards The Monolith
8. Raging Tides Of Time



You can order the album via Bandcamp and via Transcending Obscurity Records here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking Nigredo’s Facebook.

Nigredo - Flesh Torn - Spirit Pierced (Transcending Obscurity Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.