Album Review: Naglfar – Cerecloth (Century Media Records)

It has been a long eight year stretch between releases for Sweden’s black metal nihilists Naglfar, but despite the eight year wait, the band hasn’t been resting on their laurels. Like any slumbering beast, Naglfar have returned from their respite ferocious and hungry with their seventh full length album “Cerecloth” which is due for a worldwide release on May 8th , 2020 via Century Media Records.

The explosive black metal sound that erupts from the opening title track confirms something that everyone should know even before hitting play. Eight years is nothing when it comes to delivering brutal black metal noise. The fire never truly goes out and in the case of the Swedish heavyweights, it’s burning brighter than ever.

Carrying on from that hot start, Horns and Like Poison for the Soul bring a whole load more barbarity but in a surprisingly rhythmic way that just pulls at the neck muscles. The former even throws out a hell of a guitar solo to enjoy.

So far, so very good and Vortex of Negativity isn’t going to change that with its threatening start that gives way to wild riffing, frantic percussion and desperate, guttural vocals. Cry of the Serafim then delivers a sharp set of riffs before The Dagger in Creation goes for a wild and violent assault of beastliness. Black metal at its most ferocious and most enjoyable.

Absolutely nailing their return, Naglfar continue to push the black metal boundaries while not straying too far from the traditional meat and potatoes style. It makes the short-ish and piercing attacks of A Sanguine Tide Unleashed and Necronaut something all black metal fans can enjoy. One hyper fast, the other a more drawn out kind of blood-letting.

It all culminates in a frantic Last Breath of Yggdrasil, a sound from worlds older then ours as Naglfar send us careening down into pits of darkness. A momentously dark and heavy effort that is the encapsulation of everything great heard so far.

It’s been a good year for black metal and joining the ranks of top notch quality is Naglfar’s Cerecloth.

Naglfar – Cerecloth Full Track Listing:

1. Cerecloth
2. Horns
3. Like Poison for the Soul
4. Vortex of Negativity
5. Cry of the Serafim
6. The Dagger in Creation
7. A Sanguine Tide Unleashed
8. Necronaut
9. Last Breath of Yggdrasil


Website | Pre-order | Facebook | Instagram


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Naglfar – Cerecloth (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)