Album Review: Misanthropic Rage – Towards the Greyscale Aphorysm (Godz Ov War Productions)

Polish black metal nightmare, Misanthropic Rage will release their new full length album ‘Towards the Greyscale Aphorysm’ on June 6th 2019 via Godz Ov War Productions.

Misanthropic 2

Poland and black metal…they just go together having birthed the likes of the monstrous machine that is Behemoth. Well, look out because there is a new beast in town and they are called Misanthropic Rage.

Their new album is a raging vortex of noise, depraved black metal with the aim to dominate listeners completely. Something they achieve with relative ease thanks to the crushing sound of the title track, The Noise of A New Dawn and Nothing But Rage. An opening salvo that has as much brutality in the music as it does eerie oppressiveness within the vocals.

Ranging from horror-filled guttural malice to soaring deepness, what we get here is a sermon that demands all your attention. If that wasn’t enough the black metal rhythm is heavy enough to shake you to your core. The latter of that opening trio is particularly rough.

Elsewhere it’s more of the same as this brutal band continue to force their evilness down throats until you find yourself gagging on the sound. Divine Malediction draws its deep sound from the abyss, whereas Here is Deeper, Here is Higher has forceful blasts of guitars and rumbling dread-infused vocals.

It’s a very heavy album, not just in sound but how it sits in the mind so it is with some dismay that the near 10-minutes of The Traveller arrives. Dismay that is unfounded because the slower tempo makes it all the more appealing and although it gets a bit more intense in the latter part of the track, it’s certainly welcome.

Finally we have the gut-busting and head-crushing finale of Curse – Despise – Reject – Deny. A track that sees the band throw all their hate and disgust into one incredibly tough and rough sign off.

Misanthropic 1

Misanthropic Rage – Towards the Greyscale Aphorysm Full Track Listing:

1. Towards The Greyscale Aphorysm
2. The Noise Of A New Dawn
3. Nothing But Rage
4. The Luring Lament
5. Divine Malediction
6. Here Is Deeper, Here Is Higher
7. The Traveller
8. Curse – Despise – Reject – Deny



The album can be ordered via Bandcamp here and earlier releases here. Find out more Misanthropic Rage over on Facebook.

Misanthropic Rage - Towards the Greyscale Aphorysm (Godz Ov War Productions)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)