Album Review: Meden Agan – Catharsis (No Remorse Records)

Catharsis is the fourth studio album from Greek symphonic metallers, Meden Agan! For fans of Nightwish, Epica & Within Temptation, the album is out on January 5th 2018 via No Remorse Records.

Meden Agan 1

Catharsis sees Meden Agan introduce a new vocalist, Dimitra Panariti. An absolute powerhouse of a singer showing off beautifully soaring & energetic vocals. She is just one part of what makes Catharsis such a memorable record though.

Meden Agan are able to bring a level of heaviness to the symphonic sound that many of their peers can’t quite manage. The Purge kicks straight into ferocious riffing & pounding drum beats with a hint of symphonic melody sitting in the background. An eye opening start, it absolutely shimmers with epic energy.

The synthy start to Cleanse Their Sins gets the attention before delivering thumping symphonic rhythm, Shrine of Wisdom pulls out all the stops to make it an epic to be remembered while Salvation delivers a melodic tune. One that highlights just how impressive the vocals are.

Meden Agan don’t stop bringing the power metal riffs & solos as A Curse Unfolding absolutely slays with its wild & trippy style before Lustful Desires hammers as hard as it possibly can. Don’t be fooled by the power metal/symphonic metal tag attached to Meden Agan, they know heavy music.

A wickedly satisfying album finishes up with gothic whispering that leads into a nice & groovy guitar before the symphonic elements & drums pick up the beat.


Meden Agan 2

Meden Agan – Catharsis Full Track Listing:

1. Catharsis (Intro)
2. The Purge
3. Cleanse Their Sins
4. No Escape
5. Whispers in the Dark
6. Shrine of Wisdom
7. Veil of Faith
8. Salvation
9. A Curse Unfolding
10. Lustful Desires
11. Weaver of Destiny

[amazon_link asins=’B00NW9K5FQ,B077Y6WRSW,B009KO30MM,B00NL8924I’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’4f78d3ea-df91-11e7-a2c2-47f13c728428′]

Head over the Meden Agan’s website to pick up their music and find out more about them. You can also pick up their music via Amazon above & listen on Spotify/via Apple Music below. Give Meden Agan a like on Facebook, follow them on Twitter & subscribe to their YouTube channel.

Meden Agan - Catharsis (No Remorse Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *