Album Review: MaYaN – Dhyana (Nuclear Blast)

Multi-faceted symphonic metal band, MaYaN will release their new album, Dhyana on September 21st 2018 via Nuclear Blast.

Looking to take their sound to even greater heights, MaYaN chose The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra to partner with in recording Dhyana. This world-renowned symphonic orchestra was founded over 60 years ago and is one of the most respected and recorded orchestras globally. They are known for their work in cinematic features such as the Star Wars saga, Hannibal (2001), and Arrival (2016).

MaYaN 2

If that doesn’t get you excited for Dhyana, I don’t know what will.

This is an epic sounding album. That should come as no surprise considering the inclusion of the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra but the scope is still incredible to hear. Happily the symphonic elements don’t dominate, instead working in tandem with roaring heavy metal that switches effortlessly between power metal style riffing and percussion to harshness that shares something in common with death metal, albeit on the less brutalising side of things. As well as soaring operatic-style melodies in both the instruments and vocals.

After an exciting start with The Rhythm of Freedom, MaYaN take off running with no sign of slowing down. A hyper pace led by the drumming, most tracks come out fighting with catchy hooks and fiery singing. For those that like their metal to sound bombastic then look no further then the likes of Saints Don’t Die, Rebirth from Despair and the fantastic The Power Process. The latter of those three is one of the best showcases on the album of how well MaYaN have nailed the combination of orchestra and metal.

This kind of music has a habit of becoming repetitive, the longer it goes on but MaYaN do a good job of keeping things fresh sounding. If they’re any moments that feel a bit pointless it’s the two tracks that focus solely on the symphonic side of things. Both the title track and Satori have soft, movie-score style melodies and huge vocal range but don’t exactly wow. Not because they’re bad but because we’ve heard it all before.

Happily though it picks up for some delicious final tracks that wipe away any negative thoughts you might have had towards this album. The Flaming Rage of God in particular is unbelievably huge, the soundtrack to the battle to end all things.


MaYaN 1

MaYaN – Dhyana Full Track Listing:

1. The Rhythm of Freedom
2. Tornado of Thoughts – I don’t think therefore I am
3. Saints Don’t Die
4. Dhyana
5. Rebirth from Despair
6. The Power Process
7. The Illusory Self
8. Satori
9. Maya – The Veil of Delusion
10. The Flaming Rage of God
11. Set Me Free

[amazon_link asins=’B07FDTF4J7,B07FMJMFHY,B07FMB787D,B07FMGFWVS’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’af5677fc-bb4f-11e8-af4e-69f3c5897072′]

The album will be available via all major streaming services and shops but you can also find links via their website here.

MaYaN - Dhyana (Nuclear Blast)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)