Album Review: Mantar – The Modern Art of Setting Ablaze (Nuclear Blast)

Released on August 24th 2018, The Modern Art of Setting Ablaze is the new album from Mantar, a German Sludge Metal duo from Hamburg. Their third album in a relatively short career (they formed in 2012), the buzz around Mantar has been increasing in noise. For good reason though. The Modern Art of Setting Ablaze is a great album.

Mantar 2

This is a huge sounding album and the killer production on it makes it sound even bigger. That’s not to say it doesn’t retain Mantar’s raw edge because it really does. Look no further then Age of the Absurd to find that out.

Playing a maddening mix of dirty sludge doom, death metal, black metal, punk and rock, Mantar’s ambition is easy to spot here. On this showing though there is no question that they can reach the heights they are aiming for.

After such an ‘in your face’ aggressive start it’s Seek + Forget and Taurus that settle things down with the former smashing out some groovy riffs alongside the crusted vocals and the latter playing around with a doomy/sludge combo.

There are many moments through the album where things just come together perfectly. Midgard Serpent (Seasons of Failure), Dynasty of Nails and The Formation of Night are just three examples of Mantar upping the game. You’ll be head-banging, circle-pitting and maybe even dancing to the groove that is layered deeply throughout the album.

The duo have nailed it here and it never loses momentum closing out with the hefty double punches of Teeth of the Sea and The Funeral.

Mantar 1

Mantar – The Modern Art of Setting Ablaze Full Track Listing:

1. The Knowing
2. Age of the Absurd
3. Seek + Forget
4. Taurus
5. Midgard Serpent (Seasons of Failure)
6. Dynasty of Nails
7. Eternal Return
8. Obey the Obscene
9. Anti Eternia
10. The Formation of Night
11. Teeth of The Sea
12. The Funeral

The album is out now and you can pick it up/stream it via all the usual outlets.

[amazon_link asins=’B07F3MSCTG,B07FBPZP5B,B07DX5ZVF2,B07DX8XK1Q’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’89f17f85-a877-11e8-95a3-1349a98b73ed’]

Mantar - The Modern Art of Setting Ablaze (Nuclear Blast)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)