Album Review: Kosmogyr – Eviternity (Self Released)

Kosmogyr are a black metal duo split between Prague & Shanghai. They are going to release their debut album Eviternity on March 9th 2018.

Kosmogyr 2

An affirming & gorgeous melody introduces us to Kosmogyr as Sui Generis creates an atmosphere that in no way prepares you for what comes next.

Kosmogyr are all about delivering an insane level of sonic abuse, blackened metal of the highest & rawest order. The Wane is a cruel & harsh sounding track, one that has all the elements of traditional blackness but with plenty of the modern about it too. It’s a raging maelstrom that continues with the savage Quiescent. The furious riffing & brutalising vocals straight out of the underworld with just a touch of thrashiness about it.

This is such a great album filled to the brim with lengthy epics such as the tormenting & thrilling title track, the devastating yet haunting Frailty and the overwhelming foulness of Iridescent. It’s an album that is tinged with sadness & blended with charm. For all it’s unrelenting brutality there is beauty especially with short melodic tracks like Refulgence.

Two final strong tracks finish of a wonderous listening experience. Vision & Thalassic Lunacy both make Kosmogyr’s brand of black metal sound so effortless. The band should be so proud of themselves making such an impressive combination of the old & the new. In the process creating one of the best black metal releases of the year.

Kosmogyr 1

Kosmogyr – Eviternity Full Track Listing:

1. Sui Generis
2. The Wane
3. Quiescent
4. Eviternity
5. Frailty
6. Refulgence
7. Iridescent
8. Vision
9. Thalassic Lunacy

You can order the album now via Bandcamp & find out more about Kosmogyr on Facebook!

Kosmogyr - Eviternity (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *