Album Review: Johansson & Speckmann – From The Mouth Of Madness (Soulseller Records)

The deadly duo Johansson & Speckmann are back with their fourth album, nine new tracks full of old school, monstrous and dark brooding heaviness!

After collaborating on a song for the first Megascavenger album, Paul Speckmann and Rogga Johansson decided that working on a full album together would be the next thing to do. In 2013, they unleashed their debut ‘Sulphur Skies’ and presented a mix of their main bands Master and Paganizer. Since then the guys have released a split 7″ and two more full-lengths, ‘Mask Of The Treacherous’ in 2015 and ‘Edge Of The Abyss’ in 2016.

The new album, From the Mouth of Madness will be released on March 30th 2018 via Soulseller Records.

Madness 2

The viciousness of the riffing alongside the flashing speed of the drumming & the foul sounding vocals gets Johansson & Speckmann’s latest album off to a heavy start. The Demons Night is a nasty, oozing sore of an opener that is as old-school as they come.

The pace of From the Mouth of Madness is consistent, the up-tempo heaviness mixed with screeching guitar solos, huge bass hooks & ugly vocals. Remove the Creep, Condemned, Why Fear & Heal the Strain all produce breaking levels of heaviness that is fun to listen too but unlikely to live long in the memory.

It’s a a solid album just lacking a spark to really make it great. There can be few complaints about the riffing or the drumming but the vocals do come across a little silly on occasion. Like a really bad impression of Lemmy & Dave Mustaine, you start to wonder if they’re taking the piss!

When just letting rip, From the Mouth of Madness is very enjoyable listen though as The Fallen Angel shows with the best guitar solo of the album.

Madness 1

Johansson & Speckmann – From the Mouth of Madness Full Track Listing:

1. The Demons Night
2. Is This Just Virtual?
3. Remove the Creep
4. Condemned
5. Why Fear
6. Heal the Strain
7. The Heathen of the Night
8. The Fallen Angel
9. Kill and Kill

The album will be available in a number of formats via Soulseller Records here. Check out the first song from the album above & older releases via Apple Music below. Find out more/keep up to date with news via the band’s Facebook.

Johansson & Speckmann - From The Mouth Of Madness (Soulseller Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.