Album Review: In The Woods… – Cease The Day (Debemur Morti Productions)

Hot on the heels of their mind blowing 2016 opus ‘Pure’, Norway’s In The Woods… return with their latest genre-destroying masterpiece, ‘Cease the Day’. It is released 23rd November 2018 via Debemur Morti Productions.

Cease 2

A deep, rich and rewarding sound, In the Woods…’ new album is built on melodic riffs that pull at the strings of the soul. While also pushing forward a heavy progressive metal edge with elements of doom and death thrown in for good measure.

The journey begins on Empty Streets that drip emotion before Substance Vortex is equal measures haunting and heavy. The blend of progressive melodies and harsher passages makes for a memorable listen.

Respect My Solitude and Cloud Seeder then lays the the darkness on thickly even if the latter has just a little intriguing level of bounce to the riff heavy rhythm. Truthfully, In the Woods… have crafted an album that is as touching as it is challenging and exciting. This is a band that doesn’t work within the conventional rules of metal but also don’t screw around with a winning formula too much either.

With almost every song taking on a life of its own, you can easily lose yourself in this album for ages.

It’s not all about sorrowful melodies either as Strike Up With the Dawn slams down hard with its progressive riffs and flashes of intensity. A glorious track that is almost, just almost bettered by the penultimate track, Transcending Yesterdays. A frantic yet deeply moving listen before the title track ends things in short and morose fashion.

An incredible release.

Cease 1

In the Woods… – Cease the Day Full Track Listing:

1. Empty Streets
2. Substance Vortex
3. Respect My Solitude
4. Cloud Seeder
5. Still Yearning
6. Strike Up With The Dawn
7. Transcending Yesterdays
8. Cease The Day

You can order the album here and find our more by liking In the Woods… Facebook Page.

In The Woods... - Cease The Day (Debemur Morti Productions)
  • The Final Score - 10/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)