Album Review: Ice Nine Kills – The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood (Fearless Records)

Ice Nine Kills’ long awaited sequel ‘The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood’ will be released on the 15th of October 2021. The fresh slice of horror-themed brutality will be released via Fearless Records.

Speaking on his band’s newly announced album, Ice Nine Kills frontman and driving creative force, Spencer Charnas shared:

True to horror franchise tradition, there is always a sequel…”Welcome To Horrorwood” follows in the bloody footsteps of its predecessor, paying tribute to 13 more of the most gruesome tales to ever grace the silver screen. In this latest INK offering, the last album and video series is portrayed as a work of fiction. The new story line thrusts the band into a brutal “real world” slaying. The only traces of the crime are 13 songs left behind by the suspected killer…We can’t wait to share this next chapter with you, and to welcome you to the sinister state of mind that will soon be known the world over as, “Horrorwood”.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Ice Nine Kills horror-themed album The Silver Scream was a blast and its success has made a sequel inevitable. Like all good horror franchises, it’s time to go bigger, bolder and bloodier. The question is, can they capture lightening in a bottle twice?

The theme of living in a ‘real world’ slaying sees an intro that puts frontman Spencer Charnas in the role of murderer. Following this crime, these songs were discovered and never released to the public… until now.

Welcome to Horrorwood, a confession that explodes with passionate metal energy and delivers a punchy, kick-ass chorus. It’s a fun reminder that Ice Nine Kills can do musical horror so well. Before A Rash Decision has these furious bursts of heaviness that play off the cinematic edge impressively.

A tribute to Child’s Play/Chucky, Assault & Batteries is both Ice Nine Kills at their most brutal sounding while having these sharp and high-pitched child-like voices telling the story. A super sinister and a super head-banger. It’s a blast and the horror acknowledgements continue with The Shower Scene (Psycho) where Ice Nine Kills are all too aware that mother knows best. The first half of the album then wraps up with the heavyweight metalcore beast that is Funeral Derangements and danceable, live-orientated Rainy Day. The chorus in the latter is going to be immense with a lively and bouncy crowd.

Fun stuff and a gripping sequel so far. It’s time for some guests as Jacoby Shaddix of Papa Roach fame joins Ice Nine Kills for a brilliant wink to Huey Lewis and the News’ Hip to Be Square. Called Hip to Be Scared, it plays out as compliment to American Psycho where the original song was featured. A slower tempo, heavy on the sinister vibes at first, the transition into the Huey Lewis song and THAT Patrick Bateman scene is excellent. Swapping out Huey Lewis for Ice Nine Kills and acknowledging that The Silver Scream was what really put them on the map. As Patrick himself says; they really came into their own, commercially and artistically.

Cannibal Corpse’s Corpsegrinder then lends his immense vocal skills to a violent metal stabbing that is Take Your Pick. Ryan Kirby from Fit For A King and Brandon Saller of Atreyu both makes an appearance on The Box, unleashing such delights. Demons or angels? Pain or pleasure? The chorus is certainly leaning towards the latter.

The last guest is Senses Fail’s Buddy Neilsen as Ice Nine Kills hit cinematic highs while delivering another catchy and memorable effort.

The latter part of the album; Wurst Vacation, Ex-Mørtis and Farewell II Flesh gives us more of what we love about Ice Nine Kills. Raging ferocity, massive choruses and tons of tongue in cheek horror vibes.

It doesn’t have the ‘unique’ value of the original but it’s a very worthy sequel. Not quite Terminator 2: Judgement Day, more like Aliens. Bigger bolder and bloodier. If you loved The Silver Scream than this trip into Horrorwood is going to really make you scream with pleasure.

Ice Nine Kills – The Silver Scream 2: Welcome to Horrorwood Full Track Listing:

1. Opening Night…
2. Welcome To Horrorwood
3. A Rash Decision
4. Assault & Batteries
5. The Shower Scene
6. Funeral Derangements
7. Rainy Day
8. Hip To Be Scared (ft. Jacoby Shaddix)
9. Take Your Pick (ft. Corpsegrinder)
10. The Box (ft. Brandon Saller and Ryan Kirby)
11. F.L.Y. (ft. Buddy Nielsen)
12. Wurst Vacation
13. Ex-Mørtis
14. Farewell II Flesh


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Ice Nine Kills - The Silver Scream 2: Welcome To Horrorwood (Fearless Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
9.34/10 (9 votes)