Album Review: Hubris – Metempsychosis (Art As Catharsis Records)

Formed in 2014, the instrumental quartet of Hubris is characterised by their original style which blends an experimental touch of post-rock, electronica atmosphere and some elements of the metal scene. They draw their inspiration from bands like This Will Destroy You, Tides of Man or Jon Hopkins amongst others.

On May 2nd 2015, Hubris released their first opus “Emersion” along-side the New Zealander post-rock band Jakob. The album was well- received, picking up excellent reviews and airplay. In April 2017, Hubris came out with their second album; “Apocryphal Gravity”. The band set forth a musical style rarely explored to this day, breaching pre-established post-rock conventions and incorporating electronic influences.

In 2020 the band are set to return with their new album; “Metempsychosis” The record explores the cycle of life and death, but most importantly, as its name suggests, reincarnation and rebirth. The songs tell a story of the intricacies surrounding pivotal moments in the lives of characters from Greek Mythology.

Metempsychosis is out on March 13th 2020 via Art As Catharsis Records.

Building upwards towards something filled with light and wonder, Hubris’ 6-track epic effort is something to lose yourself within. Something that is pretty and easy on the ears while also being a challenging listen. Simply because each track is a wide encompassing affair of different elements that grow and grow as though thousands of years of evolution is happening in a matter of minutes. It’s like having life on fast-forward, a time-lapse of wonder.

Heavily rooted in a post-rock sound, Hubris keeps things consistently relaxed and thought-provoking even when it momentarily bursts forth with a little more energy in the guitars on with the electronica. Metempsychosis is certainly a very unique proposition, one that needs more then a cursory listen to really appreciate and take in everything Hubris are doing here.

If you have a precondition to disliking wandering and eclectic instrumental tracks built on emotional melodies then you’re unlikely to enjoy Metempsychosis. It’s pretty much exactly what the entirety of the album is, all 55-odd minutes of it. It challenges and confounds as much as it thrills and chills but few won’t be moved or touched by it in some way come the end.

Hubris – Metempsychosis Full Track Listing:

1. Hepius
2. Dionyus
3. Adonis
4. Icarus
5. Dedalus
6. Heracles




Bandcamp | Website | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Hubris - Metempsychosis (Art As Catharsis Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)