Album Review: Horizon Ablaze – The Weight of a Thousand Suns (Leviatan/Diger)

Horizon Ablaze from Kristiansand will release their third album, The Weight of a Thousand Suns on February 16th 2018 via Leviatan/Diger. The album tells the story of a journey through the human psyche and a deep dive into the man’s innermost fears and dreams. Each song on this album deals with a mental disorder and paints a picture of battling and at the same time embracing your own inner demons.

Horizon Ablaze 1

With new vocalist Andre Kvebek (ex. 1349, Pantheon I, From the Vastland) Horizon Ablaze produce a combination of atmospheric black metal and death metal intensity.

The word that comes to mind while listening to The Weight of a Thousand Suns is ‘extreme’. This is an extreme album, one with fierce black metal heaviness. Sleep is the Brother of Death is glorious carnage that leaves you feeling distressed by the intensity on show.

A grand start is followed by the staggeringly brilliant, Delusions of Grandeur. A track that provides crushing riffs, twisted vocals & these rising moments that captivate. Astonishingly good.

No matter if it is the rugged riffs of Ghost of a Previous Nightmare, the hollowing cuts of She Who Walks Upon the Sea, the murky melodic vocals that drift into pure darkness of The End of a Dream or the chomping bites of Behind the Veil. Horizon Ablaze have created a sensational record here.

Even when presenting unrivalled aggression such as on My Soul Divided, they pack it with so much rhythm that you can’t help but be amazed.

The stupefying album closes out with one absolute final statement. Insidious burns as brightly as the hottest sun. The delightful prog-like riffs & bursts of harmonious vocals close out a listen that is showing just how strong black metal is in 2018.

Horizon Ablaze 2

Horizon Ablaze – The Weight of a Thousand Suns Full Track Listing:

1. Sleep is the Brother of Death
2. Delusions of Grandeur
3. Ghost of a Previous Nightmare
4. She Who Walks Upon the Sea
5. The End of a Dream
6. Behind the Veil
7. My Soul Divided
8. Insidious

You can stream Horizon Ablaze’s music via Spotify & via Apple Music below. Find out more about the band on their website, Facebook, Instagram & Twitter. You can also listen to their music on SoundCloud & watch videos on YouTube.

Horizon Ablaze - The Weight of a Thousand Suns (Leviatan/Diger)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.