Album Review: High Priestess – High Priestess (Tridroid Records)

Last year, three women from Los Angeles were solidifying the name for themselves made off of the desert-psych offered in their 2017 demo, given full structure and form on their debut self-titled LP, High Priestess. Now in 2019, Tridroid Records is honored to give these masters of mysticism the cassette treatment and help bring this album to an even wider audience.

The cassette version will be out April 19th 2019.



Mood altering psych-rock, there is an other-worldly, almost alien like quality to High Priestess’ meditative tones. Firefly will haunt your waking hours as much as it will your dreams, the lure of the vocals too much for anyone to resist while the guitar rhythm coils around the mind like a snake. It’s wonderfully effective.

After such subtly throughout the opener, Despise doesn’t seem like it’s much different until it presses down hard with a much meatier groove and we get these guttural yelps to go alongside the sultry clean vocals. The moodiness of this track is on par with doom while Banshee gives us a tribal like drum beat.

It’s so good. It’s snake-like grip tightening its hold bit by bit, squeezing the life out of us as Take the Blame brings the riffs. The mellow of doubly of Mother Forgive Me and Earth Dive is just the cherry on top.

High Priestess 1

High Priestess – High Priestess Full Track Listing:

1. Firefly
2. Despise
3. Banshee
4. Take the Blame
5. Mother Forgive Me
6. Earth Dive

The album is out now and can be streamed via Spotify and iTunes. Order the cassette copy via Bandcamp here and find out more about High Priestess via their website, Facebook and Instagram.

High Priestess - High Priestess (Tridroid Records)
  • 9/10
    The Final Score - 9/10
User Rating 0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!