Album Review: Hellnite – Midnight Terrors (Sliptrick Records)

Formed originally in Mexico City in 2010 and now re-established in Edmonton, Canada by founding member, vocalist and guitarist Paolo Belmar, thrash band Hellnite will be unleashing “Midnight Terrors” upon the masses with their debut album slated for release February 12, 2019 on Sliptrick Records. The album was written and recorded by Belmar who is now joined with a live line up consisting of bassist Konnor Miskiman and drummer Ryan Payne.

The full length is lyrically a paranormal and sci-fi themed concept album with influences from classic heroes such as Kreator, Slayer, Death along with next-generation thrash and heavy metal such as Havok and Skull Fist.

Hellnite 2

Belmar explains:

“It’s basically an open door to the next stage of this project that I began in Mexico. I have been working on ‘Midnight Terrors’ since 2014 and I think it will be well received from people who are into oldies and classic metal. I want to provoke curiosity with this album; my purpose is to catch people’s attention so they can follow the next movements of the band, which are going to be a little bit twisted in comparison with ‘Midnight Terrors’ and can’t wait to share the next release after this one.”

Still as popular as ever, we might not get much in the way of variation in thrash but when it’s done right it can be so damn good.

Hellnite do it right and it’s so damn good. Midnight Terrors is a thrilling listen. An old-school thrash record. Nine tracks of hard-hitting metal with a bucket-load of head-banging riffs, evil sounding vocals and crunchy drum beats. From the circle pit mayhem of Phantom Force to the galloping rhythm of Spirits Prevail and the super hot guitar work of Beasts from the Deep, the first half of the album is banger after banger.

The Sci-Fi/Horror theme extends beyond just the titles of the track with each track having this undercurrent of hellishness about it. You can picture the likes of Thrash of the Living Dead and The Necromancer playing while all manner of terrifying sights take place.

It’s such an impressive album and easily one of the best thrash records I’ve heard in a while. If you need any further proof of that bold statement then make sure you check out Darker Than Black, a beast of a track that has the albums strongest riffs and delivers a wonderful head-banging solo. All without any vocals. So damn good.

This is a record not to be missed. They’re not reinventing the genre, Hellnite are just looking to dominate it. On this showing who can argue with them?

Hellnite 1

Hellnite – Midnight Terrors Full Track Listing:

1. Projection
2. Phantom Force
3. Spirits Prevail
4. Beasts from the Deep
5. Thrash of the Living Dead
6. Darker Than Black
7. Stage on Fire
8. The Necromancer
9. Midnight Terrors

The album will be available via all major digital and streaming services as well as via Sliptrick Records. Keep up to date with news by liking Hellnite’s Facebook Page, Instagram and Twitter.

Hellnite - Midnight Terrors (Sliptrick Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)