Album Review: Heaven Shall Burn – Of Truth and Sacrifice (Century Media Records)

German melodic death metal band Heaven Shall Burn will release their new album, Of Truth and Sacrifice on March 20th 2020 via Century Media Records.

Instead of getting stuck in the ever grueling cycle of studio recordings, album release and playing live Heaven Shall Burn allowed themselves a well-deserved break. While taking the time off the band the individual members could recharge their batteries and gather new influences and ideas.

Maik Weichert (guitars) says:

We decided that one album wasn’t good enough, but we wanted to create a double album as a statement. Our goal was a total work of art that people could dive into, something that leaves a lot of room for surprises and experiments. It was only fair to give our fans twice as much after letting them wait for so long.

Conceptually the album is split into two halves: “of truth” and “of sacrifice”. Maik Weichert adds:

The title is exploring the idea of truth and the question what kind of sacrifices you are willing to make for it. Something reflected in the artwork: A warrioress is shielding her child with her own body. While the mother is representing the willingness to sacrifice the child is standing for truth.

Set aside some serious time, you’re going to need it to get through the behemoth that is Of Truth and Sacrifice. 19 tracks of magnificent melo-death blasted out by a band clearly well and truly re-energised by their time away.

Crashing forth and crushing all in their path, Heaven Shall Burn cause death metal chaos quickly and uncompromisingly. The first handful of tracks delivering razor sharp riffs and brilliantly controlled savagery through the medium of the drums and vocals.

It’s head-banging, circle-pitting brilliance with the blazing groove of Protector being just one example of a track on CD1 that will make you lose your mind. Although it’s far from alone as the ‘Of Truth’ side of Heaven Shall Burn is steeped in a thrilling frantic melodic heaviness. However, there are some surprises… some very welcoming surprises. The first of which is the phenomenal effort of Expatriate, where Heaven Shall Burn ramp up their string usage, introduce a piano and have the brutality take a step back for a mellower yet still intense trek through unnatural yet fascinating landscapes.

Another couple of surprising moments comes within the ‘Sacrifice’ segment. Children of A Lesser God as scathing as anything heard elsewhere but with this rivet of melody. One that culminates in a laidback segment followed then by a truly savage expulsion. Then there is the cheeky rave-like number of La Résistance, the true oddity of the record. As well as the 8+ minute slab of intensity that is The Sorrows of Victory. No normal band should be capable of going this hard and this heavy for such a lengthy amount of time.

There’s no massive shift in sound or style on CD2, instead we just get even more high-powered metal from a band figuratively bleeding talent. There’s a lot of Heaven Shall Burn but it really will keep you engaged. One of 2020’s best melodic metal releases.

Heaven Shall Burn – Of Truth and Sacrifice Full Track Listing:


1. March Of Retribution
2. Thoughts And Prayers
3. Eradicate
4. Protector
5. Übermacht
6. My Heart And The Ocean
7. Expatriate
8. What War Means
9. Terminate The Unconcern
10. The Ashes Of My Enemies


1. Children Of A Lesser God
2. La Résistance
3. The Sorrows Of Victory
4. Stateless
5. Tirpitz
6. Truther
7. Critical Mass
8. Eagles Among Vultures
9. Weakness Leaving My Heart


Order Links | Facebook

Heaven Shall Burn – Of Truth and Sacrifice (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!