Album Review: Good Charlotte – Youth Authority (MDDN)

Youth Authority is the sixth studio album by American pop punk band Good Charlotte released on July 15, 2016 through MDDN and Kobalt Music Group. It was produced by John Feldmann with guest appearances from Kellin Quinn of Sleeping with Sirens, and Simon Neil of Biffy Clyro. The lead single, “Makeshift Love” was released on November 5, 2015. The second single, “40 oz. Dream”, premiered on April 4, 2016 as part of the band’s 20th anniversary celebration.



Track list:

  1. “Life Changes
  2. “Makeshift Love”
  3. “40 oz. Dream”
  4. “Life Can’t Get Much Better”
  5. “Keep Swingin'” (featuring Kellin Quinn)
  6. “Reason to Stay” (featuring Simon Neil)
  7. “Stray Dogs”
  8. “Stick to Your Guns (Interlude)”
  9. “The Outfield”
  10. “Cars Full of People”
  11. “WAR”
  12. “Moving On”

Bonus tracks:

“We’ll Let It All Out”
“Life Is Hard”

Youth Authority is a nostalgic comeback album for the summer, and I believe the first three songs nail the classic pop-punk feel. But what they don’t nail are the ballads – which change the tone of album – better known for their more up-beat lyrics than anything slower.

My favourite tracks on the album were We’ll Let It All Out, Life Changes, 40 oz. Dream. I felt that We’ll Let It All Out had a totally different sound to the rest of the album, which I definitely approve of.

As for the songs featuring outside singers, I didn’t find enjoyment in “Keep Swinging” but, “Reason to Stay” surprised me because I don’t particularly like Biffy Clyro but I enjoyed this song.

Overall, this album doesn’t break any new ground and Good Charlotte has retained their sound and lyrics that are reminiscent of high school and growing up. My younger side absolutely loves this album but my older side is yearning for something perhaps more evolved.

Good Charlotte – Youth Authority (MDDN)
  • The Final Score - 6/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Comments Rating 0/10 (0 reviews)

0 thoughts on “Album Review: Good Charlotte – Youth Authority (MDDN)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.