Album Review: Geezer – Groovy (Heavy Psych Sounds)

Based in Kingston, New York, Geezer formed in 2012 and have made a bluesy spirit a staple of their approach, and especially with 2014’s ‘Gage’ and their 2016 self-titled leading into ‘Psychoriffadelia’, they expanded this idea to more open, jammier explorations, a take on heavy psychedelia still informed by the swamp that led to their first European tour in 2017, including Freak Valley Festival in Germany.

They have shared stages with High on Fire, Acid King, Nebula, Earthless, Ufomammut and many more. After spending the better part of the last three years touring, writing and solidifying their lineup around guitarist/vocalist Pat Harrington, bassist Richie Touseull, drummer Steve Markota, the Kingston-based trio return with what is unquestionably their most realized work to-date, ‘Groovy’. It is their fourth long-player and solidifies their approach to trippy, heavy blues and classic song writing.

Groovy will be released on June 12th (CD and vinyl) and May 29th (digital) via Heavy Psych Sounds.

The title of this album makes a whole lot of sense once you hear the opening track, Dig. Packed with bluesy groove, it will get the body moving as soon as the beat kicks in. The use of cowbell, the thick riffs, percussion and gruff vocals are simply slamming.

Take a moment to cool down before diving head-first into Atlas Electra, where things get a little slower and far sexier. Before Dead Soul Scroll takes us on a psychedelic trip in the ether and Awake snaps things back to reality with fuzzy groove and just a remnant of the psychedelia in the background.

Those are some banging tracks but if you’re after something to really dance to then look no further than the title track. An energetic dive-bar floor filler if there ever was one.

Although there isn’t a single track that doesn’t infect the body and compel you to move. The latter part as strong as everything that came before. Drowning on Empty’s foot-tapping rhythm, Slide Mountain’s chilled out instrumental tone and Black Owl’s momentous ending. The latter being the longest track by far, meaning it also takes on several new lives as it goes on. Fuzzy hard rock riffing, bluesy rhythms and psychedelic groove stretched out to madness-inducing levels.

Geezer – Groovy Full Track Listing:

1. Dig
2. Atlas Electra
3. Dead Soul Scroll
4. Awake
5. Groovy
6. Drowning On Empty
7. Slide Mountain
8. Black Owl


Bandcamp | Facebook | Heavy Psych Sounds

Geezer – Groovy (Heavy Psych Sounds)
  • The Final Score - 9.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!