Album Review: Garganjua – Through the Void (Holy Roar Records)

Progressive doomers, Garganjua will release their new album, Through the Void on the 11th May 2018 via Holy Roar Records. Garganjua boast a truly experimental take on melodic doom metal with four tracks spanning nearly 45 minutes.

Garganjua 2

Echoing riffs, a methodical approach to bass and drums, Crushed Beneath the Tide is every bit as dark and heavy as you could hope for. The vocals come in providing deep and guttural nastiness before the tempo is switched up into a more familiar doom sounding track. Clean crooning and a lighter approach turns the track on its head even though the underlying heaviness still exists. A really surprising opener and one that confirms the experimental side of Garganjua.

The more melodic side of Garganjua sings through on the truly exceptional Adrift and fantastic Through the Void. The former like a slow death march into oblivion while the latter provides a much tighter guitar sound. It’s amazing just how much skill and talent exist in this band to make each track swoop and soar across dark and doomy landscapes without time ever becoming a factor.

Saving the best for last though, A Distant Shore is the sweet icing on the cake. Initially uncomplicated, it picks up in pace as the deep and rich sound that makes this such an incredible album steps up. The longer it goes on, the more expectation grows for a tonal shift and it doesn’t disappoint. The drop into haunting melody and strumming guitar rhythm is the kind of peacefulness that only a band as good as Garganjua could fit so seamlessly into their efforts.



Garganjua 1

Garganjua – Through the Void Full Track Listing:

1. Crushed Beneath the Tide
2. Adrift
3. Through the Void
4. A Distant Shore

You can order the album via Holy Roar Records here and via Bandcamp here. Find out more/keep up to date with news by liking their Facebook Page.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Garganjua - Through the Void (Holy Roar Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *