Album Review: Finntroll – Vredesvävd (Century Media Records)

The trolls are back –angrier, hungrier and meaner than ever! Vredesvävd is Finntroll’s seventh full-length, the first in seven years. The title translates to“Wrath-woven”, which aptly implies what the vigorous, unapologetic and ill-spirited record is all about. It will be released on September 18th 2020 via Century Media Records.

Seven years is a long time and much has changed in metal since the dark-folk heavy band that is Finntroll last emerged from their cave. Blinking and squinting under the bright sun, the expectation is that the band will play it safe, acclimatise themselves to the new world and not shake the foundations too much.

However, Finntroll aren’t about meeting your expectations. Instead, they’ve taken one long glance at the state of things and decided it’s there for the taking.

Talk about bombastic! The opening track, Väktaren is orchestral magic that has a film-score quality to it. As a starting point, it gets the blood pumping and the heart beating so fast. The perfect re-introduction to Finntroll and a clear sign of just how grand and epic this album is going to be.

From that stunner, we go into Att Döda Med En Sten and this is where the folk and metal comes to life. Finntroll sounding positively possessed with a snarling and malicious assault while still having their unique pomp to the sound.

The flow is sublime as the folk heavyweight that is Ormfolk arrives directly afterwards and while it initially seems as though Finntroll are taking their foot of the gas with Gränars Väg, it doesn’t take long for this belter to erupt.

It’s a blast, a high-powered and dominant blast that blurs the lines of folk and metal so well.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Simply put, Finntroll are masters of this and Forsen, Vid Häxans Härd and Myren prove this with a trio of hard-hitting head-bangers.

If you’re expecting a drop in energy or a shocking about turn then don’t as Finntroll have a clear direction on this album. They want to make you feel as though your ten feet tall while also delivering effective and powerful folk-metal. All with that wonderful grandiose and epic touch, exemplified by Stjärnors Mjöd and the fast-moving Mask. All before a thrilling return is wrapped up with Ylaren where the slower drawl of guitars really gets down and dirty.

Easily the sexiest and filthiest sounding track on the album and a classy way to end such a banger.

Finntroll – Vredesvävd Full Track Listing:

1. Väktaren
2. Att Döda Med En Sten
3. Ormfolk
4. Gränars Väg
5. Forsen
6. Vid Häxans Härd
7. Myren
8. Stjärnors Mjöd
9. Mask
10. Ylaren


Website | Facebook

Finntroll - Vredesvävd (Century Media Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!