Album Review: Dying Vision – The Death And Its Slaughter (Self Released)

Dying Vision are back with their upcoming album The Death And Its Slaughter which is set for release August 27th 2020.

Richard (Vocals) says:

The theme of our album, ‘Death and its Slaughter’ is about death and the forms that have represented it, for example in personification and the ceremonies such as weighing of a soul. Such metaphors appear in the historical accounts from superstitious citizens. Part of the song ‘Plague Bringer’ was inspired by one from the catastrophic bubonic plague (or ‘black death’ as it became known) that referred to citizens inviting death to relieve them from suffering – hence the lyric ‘I hear you calling my name’.

The global pandemic that emerged recently has made this song an apt choice for our first release and it bears relevance today – in relation to the fear of dying, resignation in the face of death and surrounding superstitions or misinformation.

We have come together as a collective of influences and styles and created something that we feel really tells a story on each track. We have infused our different characters and created something that we feel truly encompasses what, and who we are.

Who and what Dying Vision are can certainly be determined by the fire and ferocity that exists throughout The Death and Its Slaughter. Seven, just seven, tracks of blazing hot death metal with a blackened outline.

Like the heralding of the end times, Dark Passenger arrives with a ton of power behind it. The demanding way in which the vocals declare the extreme intentions of Dying Vision is seriously attention grabbing. Then when the guitars and drums speed things up, it gets all the more wild, like an out of control race car of death.

Horrifying Pattern of the Mind takes the speedier approach and daringly adds some kick-ass groove. Another top notch effort that you can easily bang your head too. As is the following Burning Shadows (a right nasty sounding effort with some real growl) and Lost in the Darkness.

The meatiness of the record alongside the undercurrent of evilness is what all will remember as Dying Vision push onwards. So when we get a ‘rockier’ start with Human Condition, it doesn’t seem to fit. No panic needed though, it’s just something a little different to allow time to breathe before the slaughter returns. When it does though, it is fun to hear some extra guitar flourishes and flair.

The penultimate track, Testimony of the Fallen, keeps the quality high and Dying Vision’s head-banging credentials valid. Before this banger wraps up with the phenomenal Plague Bringer. A finale as worthy as everything that came before it.

Dying Vision – The Death and Its Slaughter Full track Listing:

1. Dark Passenger
2. Horrifying Pattern of the Mind
3. Burning Shadows
4. Lost in the Darkness
5. Human Condition
6. Testimony of the Fallen
7. Plague Bringer


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Dying Vision - The Death And Its Slaughter (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)