Album Review: Devastator – Baptised In Blasphemy (Clobber Records)

Devastator’s full-length debut album, Baptised In Blasphemy, embodies the spirit of denim and leather, bullets and studs and headbanging through the pain barrier.

Clobber Records will unleash this monster on July 10th 2020.

If you’re wondering just how ‘old-school’ this album sounds, the main riff of Howling Night will send you spiralling back in time. If you’re of a certain age, it’s probably going to awaken some memories of mullets and tight leather pants.

Simply put, if you were told (just based off that riff), that this was a re-release of a mid-80’s speed/thrash metal album, you’d be nodding your head in understanding. Of course that’s not the case, Devastator are a new entity in metal looking to add some modern elements with death-infused vocals while paying serious tribute to the past.

A short blast of hairy head-banging noise, as debuts go it’s a lot of fun even if it’s not going to leave a long and lasting impression unfortunately. From the later ripping guitar solo of the opener to the manic detonation that is Send Them to Hell and Death Slut. That pair will make the hair stand on end; such is the intensity.

It’s such a short offering that there is no time for exhaustion to sink in meaning by time the mighty head-bangers that is Spiritual Warfare and the title track, the metal stake that Devastator wield is in deep.

Devastator – Baptised in Blasphemy Full Track Listing:

1. Howling Night
2. Worship the Goat
3. Hail Death
4. Send Them to Hell
5. Death Slut
6. Spiritual Warfare
7. Baptised in Blasphemy


Facebook | Clobber Records

Devastator - Baptised In Blasphemy (Clobber Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!