Album Review: Dekant – A Rose Will Die (Self Released)

Scottish melodic black metal project, Dekant is back with the follow-up to 2017’s Trials and Tribulations. You can read our review of that release here.

Entitled A Rose Will Die, the new album is out now.



We called Trials and Tribulations ‘a work in progress’ showing off enough to intrigue but being a little too raw at times. Dekant have taken these and other criticisms to create a follow up that is far superior in every way. A Rose Will Die is a sharper, more layered and interesting release. One that gets the balance of melody and bleak black metal right. Simply put, this is a step forward for the one-man project as the depressive tones ring loudly throughout dark crypts and sinister graveyards.

The odd numbered tracks are the more expansive and longer ones while the even ones keep things far shorter with touches of melody.

The use of keyboards to give tracks an uncomfortable and disconcerting vibe is an element that deserves praise. What could offer lightness amongst such darkness actually seems to enhance the shadows.

The constant depressing style should get old but Dekant has a way of adding emotive passages and flashes of uplifting sorrow-filled moments that keep things focused. That focus makes A Rose Will Die a much superior release. One man projects are certainly in vogue nowadays and the likes of Dekant are leading the field across the UK.

Dekant 1

Dekant – A Rose Will Die Full Track Listing:

1. 1
2. 2
3. 3
4. 4
5. 5
6. 6
7. 7
8. 8

The album can be ordered now over on Bandcamp and more information gained via Dekant’s Facebook Page.

Dekant - A Rose Will Die (Self Released)
  • 8/10
    The Final Score - 8/10
User Rating 5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!