Album Review: Defeated Sanity – The Sanguinary Impetus (Willowtip Records)

Progressive/Brutal Death Metal luminaries Defeated Sanity return on July 24th 2020 with The Sanguinary Impetus on Willowtip Records.

The Sanguinary Impetus is perhaps the ultimate expression of Defeated Sanity’s signature blend of the brutal with the technical, performed in a manner largely unparalleled in the world of extreme metal.

The band released the following statement concerning the forthcoming album:

With The Sanguinary Impetus we have created our most complex album to date. We had strayed pretty far from our style musically with Disposal of the Dead/Dharmata and felt a strong urge to pick up where we left off with Passages Into Deformity and expand on the trademark DS sound.

Like a drum signalling the march to war, with a beat that gets faster before exploding into sickening and crunching noise, Phytodigestion is a mean start. With a touch of grind injected into their wild abilities, Imposed Corporeal Inhabitation is even madder as the band fly about with all the care of a drunk mule which has just been painfully branded.

After a duo of short and sharp shockers, Conceived Through Savagery extends the pain before these loons spit out another vile effort with Insecta Incendium. The lack of order and discernible rhythm makes for a fascinating if not, challenging listen.

That doesn’t get any simpler as Defeated Sanity continue to discharge out a cacophony of noise. Entity Dissolving Entity with a ruthless amount of chug, Arboreously Transfixed being the fiery storm that whips through causing breathlessness and Propelled into Sacrilege the resulting carnage filtered through the screams of the dying.

If all of that wasn’t extreme enough, Defeated Sanity then push the limits with the last two tracks being also the longest tracks. First up, Drivelling Putrefaction where the death metal merchants ply their trade with such ease it’s hard not to be impressed. The squeals and shrieks of the guitars offset by the thick and juicy percussion and meaty, guttural vocals.

Before Dislimbing the Ostracized ends the torturous experience with a body-spasming and muscle destroying effort.

Defeated Sanity – The Sanguinary Impetus Full Track Listing:

1. Phytodigestion
2. Imposed Corporeal Inhabitation
3. Conceived Through Savagery
4. Insecta Incendium
5. Entity Dissolving Entity
6. Arboreously Transfixed
7. Propelled into Sacrilege
8. Drivelling Putrefaction
9. Dislimbing the Ostracized


Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | Willowtip Records

Defeated Sanity - The Sanguinary Impetus (Willowtip Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!