Album Review: Dawn of Ouroboros – The Art of Morphology (Rain Without End Records)

California Blackened Progressive Metal band Dawn of Ouroboros are pleased to announce that they will release their album The Art of Morphology via Rain Without End Records (A sub-label of Naturmacht productions). The album will be released on March 30th 2020.

The band commented:

Our Goal for this album was to find our voice and experiment openly with sound, emotion, and chemistry as a whole. Lyrically, we chose to be free with our ideas and not stick to a single concept. Song inspirations ranging from our favorite horror manga series to the seriousness of profound loss and mental anguishes. We think our music falls under the genre tags of progressive blackened metal, however, it is really up to the listeners interpretation.

Interpret as you so choose, one thing everyone will be able to agree on is that Dawn of Ouroboros’ The Art of Morphology is a savage fiend of an album. Viciousness exuded by a blackened metal style that is downright crushing in its intensity. A burning ball of flame that rushes towards the face at such speed, you have little time to pray.

Although, that’s not to say Dawn of Ouroboros don’t have more tricks up their sleeve as they also show a deft hand when it comes to melodic passages. Giving this a twinge of progressiveness and post, something that appears in opener Revivified Spirits but is way more prevalent in the following Pinnacle Induced Vertigo.

Later, tracks like Spiral of Hypnotism and Sorrow’s Eclipse showcase a gothic/symphonic edge to their brutality. Adding deeper layers of beauty and very reflective of the grandness that Dawn of Ouroboros has managed to capture throughout.

A far deeper and impactful release then you might initially think it is, Dawn of Ouroboros have crafted an exemplary album here.

Dawn of Ouroboros – The Art of Morphology Full Track Listing:

1. Revivified Spirits
2. Pinnacle Induced Vertigo
3. Gateway to Tenebrosity
4. Lunar Cathexis
5. Spiral of Hypnotism
6. Serpent’s Charm
7. Sorrow’s Eclipse
8. Valiant Abscond




Pre-order | Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram

Dawn of Ouroboros – The Art of Morphology (Rain Without End Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
5 (1 vote)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!