Album Review: Concede – Indoctrinate (Petrichor Records/Napalm Records)

A Grind/Hardcore/Power-violence hybrid that slams the current state of the world in your face! That’s the recipe that members of Amend, End It All and Earth Rot cooked together in Concede.

Hailing from Perth in Australia, Concede have been around for a couple of years and managed to leave a lasting impression on the local and international scene already. With several EP’s and singles under their belt the band now unleashes their first full-length album ‘Indoctrinate’ upon the world.

A journey through the darkened era mankind is currently facing. Indoctrinate is set for release on Vinyl and CD on November 20th 2020 via Napalm Records courtesy of Petrichor Records.

With only one track, the finale, going over the 2-minute mark, you can expect a face-melting blast of noise to erupt from Indoctrinate. You know that this is going to be a persistent mugging of viciousness and brutality. You know it is going to be akin to riding an out of control roller coaster. A white-knuckle ride, where you’re desperately trying to hold on for fear of being flung off to your death.

You know Concede have zero fucks to give and you’ll either climb aboard with their vehement melding of grind, hardcore and power-violence or you can piss off.

Indoctrinate is bloody brutal. Every track is like a roundhouse punch to the skull that you don’t see coming. You’re left seeing stars and wondering what the hell happened. Before you’ve even had a chance to recover, the next swinging fist is coming, and this lasts all the way to the final track.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s jarring enough to set the teeth on edge, rough enough to feel like sandpaper being rubbed over a fresh wound and ugly enough to get the stomach acids churning. Yet, it is very appealing to listen too. Even more so if your taste leans towards this frenzied and savage style of music. Simply put, Concede have pulled off a blinder here.

That they’ve spent all of the album’s run-time trying to tear your face off in quick bursts, to then turn around and spit out a 5-minute closer is testament to the confidence of this nasty unit. The slower pace doesn’t distract from what is an undeniably feral track. It might just leave you with your head over the toilet, vomiting up your guts.

Concede – Indoctrinate Full Track Listing:

1. Indoctrinate
2. Through The Teeth
3. Brainwash
4. Burn In Your Own Hell
5. You Ruin Me
6. Proselytize
7. Misgiven
8. No Certainty
9. Influence
10. Baited
11. Deliverer
12. Bottom Feeder
13. Conditioned
14. Plagued
15. One With The Earth


Website | Facebook | Napalm Records

Concede - Indoctrinate (Petrichor Records/Napalm Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!