Album Review: Christ Dismembered – Christ Dismembered (Self Released)

Christ Dismembered are a four piece black metal band based in rural South Australia (Millicent/Mount Gambier). Their music is heavily influenced by the more aggressive black metal pioneers such as Dark Funeral, Gorgoroth & Belphegor. In May 2017 they released their debut self titled full length album.

Christ Dismembered 2

The haunting sounds of a church organ introduce the fetid sounds of Christ Dismembered, a band that play a savage, up-tempo style of black metal that has a familiar sound to those used to the heavier & darker side of the sub-genre. This intro serves to tell you that what you’re about to listen to will disturb you.

Unlike many of those bands though, Christ Dismembered produce listenable, exciting rhythm that crawls through the ear canal laying its filthy eggs throughout your skull. A Slap in the Face to God is a blindingly feral track, a wall of raw guitar noise complimented by the savagery of the high-pitched & yearning vocals.

Short, sharp attacks. Demise of the Unblack erupts in a fury of blood & guts, Swarm of the Black Mass is a hefty kick to the jaw & Blood of the Innocent is pure, unadulterated aggression. Three tracks of fury that is so appealing & makes you want to be in a tiny, sweaty club with a beer in one hand, an inverted cross in the other and letting the head bang as hard as possible.

The longer tracks (Yearn for the Blood, Angelic Extermination) tend to showcase a bit more imagination in the riffing & song structure, ensuring the harsh metal doesn’t seem dragged out.

The evilness of Christ Dismembered’s black mass comes to an end with the most inventive track of the bunch. A track that delivers the same nasty vomitous raw black metal but has a few twists & turns ensuring this is an album that suggests Christ Dismembered have a very bright future!

Christ Dismembered 1



Christ Dismembered – Christ Dismembered Full Track Listing:

1. Intro
2. A Slap in the Face to God
3. Demise of the Unblack
4. Yearn for the Blood
5. Swarm of the Black Mass
6. Angelic Extermination
7. Blood of the Innocent
8. Reveal in Your Disgust

You can stream/pick up the album now over on Bandcamp as well as via Apple Music below. Find out more about Christ Dismembered on Facebook & Instagram!

Christ Dismembered - Christ Dismembered (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.