Album Review: Carrion Vael – Abhorrent Obsessions (Unique Leader Records)

Indiana’s Carrion Vael will release their album ‘Abhorrent Obsessions’ via Unique Leader Records on August 12th, 2022.

Vocalist Travis Lawson Purcell described the new album as:

Abhorrent Obsessions is a psychological look into the mind of the famously deranged, sick, and murderous ones amongst us. Technical, brutal, and melodically charged, we wrote this album with the utmost in absolute savagery at heart.

Utmost and absolute savagery, no truer words could be spoken about this album. Carrion Vael open the floodgates of brutal death metal with the stinging technicality of Wings of Deliverance. An opener with just a slight touch of the ‘core’ about it but with wild detail that makes it so much more than your average slab of ‘in your face’ brashness.

The Devil in Me follows that slice of intensity with even more ferocity and technical proficiency. Before King of the Rhine showcases just how many limbs this beast of a band has. Deathcore touches, technical mastery, death metal ferocity and melodic heaviness, all in one epic, breathless package.

Carrion Vael will leave you gasping for air with the force of Kentucky Fried Strangulation. Before something with darker and ominous vibes arrives in the shape of the killer Tithes of Forbearance. A cacophony of blistering drums, riffs, atmospheric touches, and roaring vocals, a straight-forward continuation of Carrion Vael’s brilliant intensity.

Speaking of which… Disturbia and Malleus Maleficarum are explosive efforts, where the eruption of death metal slams headfirst into Carrion Vael’s impressive technical edge. It’s the stuff that keeps you on your toes, giving the band all your attention because you just can’t predict what level of ferocity is going to assail you next. Hell, their experimental side even sees some cleaner vocals crop up in the former track.

Buy Me a Coffee at

It’s been a killer year for extreme music and Carrion Vael are proving here that they belong in the conversation surrounding great death metal releases. If anymore proof was needed, The finale of The Paint Shop delivers it. Dig down deep for that last ounce of energy and unleash the beast inside. Carrion Vael have earned your attention.

Carrion Vael – Abhorrent Obsessions Full Track Listing:

1. Wings of Deliverance
2. The Devil in Me
3. King of the Rhine
4. Kentucky Fried Strangulation
5. Tithes of Forbearance
6. Disturbia
7. Malleus Maleficarum
8. The Paint Shop




  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Carrion Vael - Abhorrent Obsessions (Unique Leader Records)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0/10 (0 votes)