Album Review: Bury Tomorrow – Black Flame (Music for Nations)

The fifth album from metalcore heavyweights, Bury Tomorrow was released on July 13th 2018. Black Flame is ten tracks of heavy as hell, chest beating melodic metal with high energy hardcore.

Bury Tomorrow 1

With high and clean production the five-piece lay head-banging and circle-pitting heaviness with No Less Violent, Adrenaline and the title track. The breakdowns alone will leave your brain feeling pulverised.

The dueling vocal styles works well and has enough subtle differences to make them sound different to the standard metalcore fare. However, it’s the high energy that really makes this new release stand out. My Revenge’s pace is impressive as it picks up in heaviness for a death metal section before flipping over and showing its more melodic side. A lovely little guitar solo is the icing on the cake.

More Than Mortal absolutely rages with a wickedly catchy chorus, Knife of Gold is eye-wateringly abusive, The Age ticks plenty of the right boxes at this stage of the album and Stormbringer drops a more complex sounding set of riffs alongside a crunching level of drumming.

Satisfying most of the way through, the penultimate track, Overcast is most melodic track of the bunch before Peacekeeper closes things out with one final push that perhaps suggests the album has run its course as it falls a bit flat.

Bloody good album though!

Bury Tomorrow 2

Bury Tomorrow – Black Flame Full Track Listing:

1. No Less Violent
2. Adrenaline
3. Black Flame
4. My Revenge
5. More Than Mortal
6. Knife of Gold
7. The Age
8. Stormbringer
9. Overcast
10. Peacekeeper

[amazon_link asins=’B07CBLSF38,B07BZ1J2GS,B07BYC3S5C,B07BYWDYJT’ template=’UseThisOne’ store=’g0e5b-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’fd5cba2f-8a96-11e8-b439-a3b772d0dc6b’]

Check it out yourself via all major streaming services.

Bury Tomorrow - Black Flame (Music for Nations)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)