Album Review: Brainstorm – Wall Of Skulls (AFM Records)

Power metal band Brainstorm will release their new album ‘Wall Of Skulls’ on the 17th September 2021 via AFM Records.

Power metal can do a lot of things. It can make you feel melancholic, emotional, hopeful and upbeat; often in the exact same song. We want our power metal to make us feel ten feet tall, we want to be hit with bombastic beats and fist-pumping energy, we want to head-bang and hug a stranger while listening to it. It’s what power metal has the ‘power’ to do and the epitome of all of that and more is here.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Yes, Brainstorm’s Wall of Skulls is filled to the brim with every power metal trope you can think of and it is glorious. From the epic intro of Chamber Thirteen to the hyperactivity and shredding of Where Ravens Fly to chorus-driven catchiness of Solitude to the thumping head-banger of Escape the Silence. The first part of Wall of Skulls is Brainstorm drinking deeply from the cup of metal glory.

Power runs through their veins and Turn Off the Light only enhances that as Orden Ogan’s Seeb adds his own personal vocal brand of splendour to things. Glory Disappears has the right brand of melodies and throws out a ‘fist raised high in the air’ guitar solo.

Although the album does drop a little in quality with the following My Dystopia and End of My Innocence. Simply because neither are particularly memorable when compared to what we’ve heard so far and what follows with the groovy and fast paced head-banger of Stigmatized (Shadows Fall) and the synthy, downbeat edge of Holding On.

Though it’s in perfect power metal style that Brainstorm go out in. I, the Deceiver is defiant and blood-pumping driven fun.

Brainstorm – Wall of Skulls Full Track Listing:

1. Chamber Thirteen
2. Where Ravens Fly
3. Solitude
4. Escape The Silence (feat. “Peavy“ Wagner of Rage)
5. Turn Off The Light (feat. “Seeb“ Levermann, Orden Ogan)
6. Glory Disappears
7. My Dystopia
8. End Of My Innocence
9. Stigmatized (Shadows Fall)
10. Holding On
11. I, The Deceiver


Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | AFM Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Brainstorm - Wall Of Skulls (AFM Records)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
10/10 (1 vote)