Album Review: Black Therapy – Echoes Of Dying Memories (Black Lion Records)

After getting involved in a spree of live activities, the Rome based five-piece Black Therapy have announced the release of their third album, Echoes of Dying Memories, slated for worldwide release on March 15th 2019 via Black Lion Records.

Echoes of Dying Memories is the follow-up on their lauded “In the Embrace of Sorrow, I Smile” album. An album that blew us away back in 2016 and you can read our review here. This follow up offers a more mature take on melodic death metal, spanning all the different shades of the genre while retaining the atmosphere of melancholy, which has always been a trademark of their music.

The album also features the contributions from two very special guests: Asim Searah (Wintersun) playing an intense guitar solo on “Scars”, and Sami El Kadi (Adimiron) providing some dreamy vocal lines on “Ruins”.

Black Therapy 2

After such an incredible showing with their last album, there is some expectation on Black Therapy to deliver another stellar listen with Echoes of Dying Memories. Happily the five-piece don’t let us down with an album of exciting melo-death that takes us through outstanding highs and expressive lows.

The latter is an important part of this album as Phoenix Rising, the opener shows a sombre and more downbeat style of melodic death metal. There’s a definite feeling of sadness to the track and album as a whole.

A strong blend of super-scratchy and throat-shredding vocals, emotive riffs and powerful percussion drives Ideal forward before the title track lays down the gauntlet as the strongest effort on the album so far. The melody is just marvellous.

Dreaming’s guitar solo, Rejecting Me’s catchy chorus and The Winter of Your Suffering’s piano melody keeps the middle of the album just as strong.

The album culminates strongly with an impressive melo-death track in the form of Burning Abyss before a blistering guitar solo wrecks the senses in Scars and mournful vocals end things in gloomy style.

Another impressive effort from Black Therapy.

Black Therapy 1

Black Therapy – Echoes of Dying Memories Full Track Listing:

1. Phoenix Rising
2. Ideal
3. Echoes Of Dying Memories
4. Dreaming
5. Rejecting Me
6. The Winter Of Your Suffering
7. Burning Abyss
8. Scars
9. Ruins



The album can be ordered by Black Lion Records here. Head over to Black Therapy’s website, Facebook Page, Instagram and Twitter to find out more!


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Black Therapy - Echoes Of Dying Memories (Black Lion Records)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)