Album Review: Behemoth – Messe Noire: Live (Nuclear Blast)

Behemoth’s The Satanist has been nothing short of a phenomenal success. It’s an incredible piece of black metal and pushed the band to heights they can hardly have imagined. It’s success has seen it still be at the forefront of metal 3 years after release. So popular is it as an album, Behemoth even started doing shows that were just the album played in full.

Which brings us to the final chapter of this Satanist worldwide journey. Released on April 13th 2018, Messe Noire is is a simple but effective live release. It sees Behemoth at the height of their powers performing a much-loved record in front of an audience in their home country’s capital, Warsaw.

Messe Noire 2

Messe Noire puts you right into the action, the production making you feel as though you’re there. From the moment Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel kicks off to the darkened O Father O Satan O Sun finale, Messe Noire is exciting. You’ll find yourself cheering along with the recorded audience that is pretty loud at times.

The highlight is the absolutely thumping Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer. a track that has never sounded stronger.

There’s not a lot to say about the album. It ticks all the right boxes for a live album and is a great reminder of just how tight Behemoth have become as unit.

Aside from the record, the Messe Noire DVD/Blu-ray comes with a whole host of extras that make it a worth while buy for any fan.

Messe Noire 1

Behemoth – Messe Noire (Live) Full Track Listing:

1. Blow Your Trumpets Gabriel
2. Furor Divinus
3. Messe Noire
4. Ora Pro Nobis Lucifer
5. Amen
6. The Satanist
7. Ben Sahar” Nergal
8. In the Absence ov Light
9. O Father O Satan O Sun!

Check it out yourself below via Apple Music.


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Behemoth - Messe Noire: Live (Nuclear Blast)
  • The Final Score - 9/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *