Album Review: Astralium – Land Of Eternal Dreams (Rockshots Records/Spiritual Beast)

Italian symphonic metal band Astralium upcoming debut album ‘Land Of Eternal Dreams’ is due out on August 23rd via Rockshots Records (worldwide release) along with the full length being available in Japan via Spiritual Beast on the same date.

A pure symphonic album with power heavy prog metal influences, epic choirs, high pitch vocals plus lyrical sections and baroque/magniloquent arrangements, “Land Of Eternal Dreams” is a concept release about dreams and the astral universe, but also the fantasy world that lives in us. It’s an inner journey through imaginary stories about myths and legends from the past.

The band explains the release:

“First of all, I want to say that we are very excited about our debut album “Land Of Eternal Dreams”. Fans can expect an amazing album of great melodies, blended with cinematic, symphonic and classical music, along with metal guitar riffs and epic choirs. We believe that music evokes sensations, emotions and real fantastic worlds in our minds.”

The album also features specials guests Tommy Johansson (Sabaton, Majestica), Jo Lombardo (Ancestral, ex-Metatrone), Andrea Martongelli (Arthemis), Stefano “Ghigas” Calvagno (Metatrone, NefeshCore), Adam Cook (A Hill To Die Upon), Davide Bruno (Metatrone, NefeshCore) and more.

The gothic wonder that comes with the intro of Rememberance will grab attentions straight away. Exciting and interesting, the word is bombastic and that is only heightened as we enter The Journey.

Speeding away, the symphonic metal goodness of this band comes spilling out for all to see. Very impressive stuff; the rolling riffing, clean soaring female vocals and groovier moments get things started in the right way.

Of course, comparisons to the symphonic greats are going to made and it’s easy to find them in the likes of Rising Waves from the Ocean, Whisper in the Silence and Seven Seas, Seven Winds.

However, it’s the likes of My Life is My Eternity, a track with extra chug and A Dream Elegy, a track that gets the hips swinging as much as the head-banging, that really stand out. Just two tracks out of twelve that are worth mentioning.

That being said, it does begin to wear a little thin in the latter half, a few too many samey sounding tracks and a run-time that begins to overstay its welcome.

It’s not meant as a slur when we say that Astralium tick all the boxes for what symphonic metal should sound like. It’s a great album, really listenable with its only real fault being that it’s too long.

Astralium – Land of Eternal Dreams Full Track Listing:

1. Rememberance
2. The Journey
3. Rising Waves From The Ocean
4. My Life Is My Eternity
5. Whisper In The Silence
6. Hope Is Gone
7. Breath of My Soul
8. A Dream’s Elegy
9. Seven Seas, Seven Winds
10. Ethereal Voices From The Forest
11. The World of Unknown
12. Hidden Conspiracy


Spotify | Apple Music | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Rockshots Records

Astralium - Land Of Eternal Dreams (Rockshots Records/Spiritual Beast)
  • The Final Score - 7.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!