Album Review: Anaal Nathrakh – Endarkenment (Metal Blade Records)

Extremity has been Anaal Nathrakh’s stock in trade for more than two decades, and with 11th album, Endarkenment, they maintain their legacy of aural devastation. The brand new album is out on October 2nd 2020 via Metal Blade.

Holding nothing back, the extreme metallers emerge from their hibernation with an absolute flurry of noise on the opening title track. It’s wild and aggressive, startling and furious, yet then Anaal Nakhrakh hit the chorus and blow all expectations out of the water. With clean and epic singing, a hammering drum beat and a down-right catchy guitar rhythm, it’s spectacular.

The bar set, what follows is ferocity in horror form with Thus, Always, to Tyrants. The sort of aggression that makes the eyes water and stomach clench tightly. The Age of Starlight Ends brings back the grander and more lavish touch while being unquestionably destructive. Before Anaal Nathrakh reach deeply into their bag of extreme metal tricks for the beastly effort that is Libidinous (A Pig with Cocks in its Eyes).

The variety on show is genuinely surprising as the aptly titled Beyond Words gets things to the halfway point. It’s clear Anaal Nathrakh were unwilling to just sit back and phone it in on their 11th offering. How else can you explain the likes of Feeding the Death Machine and Create Art, Though the World May Perish? A pair that move at an intense pace but offset the brutality with uplifting and thoughtful choruses.

Buy Me a Coffee at

Although be under no illusions, for all the intrigue and exciting extras they drip throughout, Endarkenment is at its core, an extreme metal album. Even the most extravagant effort is still uncompromisingly savage. This is not Anaal Nathrakh calming down, rather it’s Anaal Nathrakh growing.

There’s more than enough twisted fury expelled by the guitar riffs, bass hooks, drum patterns and guttural/horror-laden vocals to keep everyone happy. How could you not be happy once you hear the absolute belter that is Singularity and the roaring heat blast of intensity that is Punish Them!?

It’s already an album of the year contender before it even wraps up. Yet Anaal Nathrakh put the cherry on top with the spectacular Requiem. An unmissable listen.

Anaal Nathrakh – Endarkenment Full Track Listing:

1. Endarkenment
2. Thus, Always, to Tyrants
3. The Age of Starlight Ends
4. Libidinous (A Pig with Cocks in Its Eyes)
5. Beyond Words
6. Feeding the Death Machine
7. Create Art, Though the World May Perish
8. Singularity
9. Punish Them
10. Requiem


Website | Facebook | Twitter | Metal Blade Records


  • Carl Fisher

    Owner/Administrator/Editor/Writer/Interviewer/YouTuber - you name it, I do it. I love gaming, horror movies, and all forms of heavy metal and rock. I'm also a Discworld super-fan and love talking all things Terry Pratchett. Do you wanna party? It's party time!

Anaal Nathrakh - Endarkenment (Metal Blade Records)
  • The Final Score - 10/10
User Review
9.8/10 (1 vote)