EP Review: Taphos – Demo MMXVI & EP MMXVII (Blood Harvest/Regain Records)

Blood Harvest Records will release Danish death metal band, Taphos’ first two recordings entitled Demo MMXVI & 7″ EP MMXVII on the 6th April 2018. Their first recording, Demo MMXVI, was recorded in 2016, to be followed a year later by the two-song EP MMXVII.

Taphos 2

The four tracks that make up Demo MMXVI are a brutalising experience filled with devastating death metal riffs, harsh vocals & a dark-filled rhythm. Raw but not unlistenable, Venus’ Death, Upon Withered Wings, Perpetual Void and Venomous Tempest fly by in a hail of anger, disgust & hate. The highlight of the four tracks being the vile & impressive Upon Withered Wings.

The two tracks that make up the 7” EP MMXVII stand out instantly for having a much deeper & richer tone. The bass really makes impact here and it shows how the band has developed nicely. There is a much meatier sound to Sensory Deprivation while Purging Pyres is hefty slab of death metal with just a touch of black metal hidden throughout.



Taphos 1

Taphos – Demo MMXVI & 7″ EP MMXVII Full Track Listing:

1. Venus’ Death (Demo MMXVI)
2. Upon Withered Wings (Demo MMXVI)
3. Perpetual Void (Demo MMXVI)
4. Venomous Tempest (Demo MMXVI)
5. Sensory Deprivation (7″ EP MMXVII)
6. Purging Pyres (7″ EP MMXVII)

You can pick up Taphos’ music over on Bandcamp, merchandise via Big Cartel and the new release via Blood Harvest Records here. Find out more via Facebook.

Taphos - Demo MMXVI & EP MMXVII (Blood Harvest/Regain Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.