EP Review: Seep Away – The Blackened Carnival of Societal Ineptitude (Man Demolish Records)

York’s metallic hardcore upstarts Seep Away have released their final record, The Blackened Carnival of Societal Ineptitude. The 8-track EP was released on Friday 12th January via Man Demolish Records.

Seep Away 1

8 tracks, 20 minutes of hardcore, mosh-pit anthems that is filled with destructive power. An album that is savage in nature but with enough rhythmic quality to make it enjoyable.

Fuzzy guitar riffs, booming drums & shouted vocals bring Rot floating to the surface of Seep Away’s scummy lake. It leads into the brutalising Matchstick Man, a sinister track built around a deep groove & near-spoken word style vocals.

The highlight of the record is the head-banging catchiness of Snakes, a track that delivers a great drum beat & some real venom in the vocals.

The album has two covers on it. Shimmy Shimmy Ya by Ol’ Dirty Bastard & Lovin’ You by Minnie Riperton. The former fits the album style perfectly with a heavy desperation in the hardcore sound while the latter is out of place with it’s Korn-esqe vibe that really doesn’t appeal.

Joie De Vivre & The Awkward Handjob see out Seep Away’s aggressive effort in very differing style. The former begging for a circle pit to start up while the latter has some serious tongue in cheek humour to it. The most upbeat track of the album, the circus like tone & vocals will make you chuckle. That being said, it’s pretty awful.

Overall, Seep Away’s final effort is a solid one. A strong farewell.

Seep Away 2

Seep Away – The Blackened Carnival of Societal Ineptitude Full Track Listing:

1. The Introduction
2. Rot
3. Matchstick Man
4. Shimmy Shimmy Ya (Ol’ Dirty Bastard Cover)
5. Snakes
6. Lovin’ You (Minnie Riperton Cover)
7. Joie De Vivre
8. The Awkward Handjob

The album is available on Bandcamp, Spotify and via Apple Music below.

Seep Away - The Blackened Carnival of Societal Ineptitude (Man Demolish Records)
  • The Final Score - 5.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.