EP Review: Protosequence – A Blunt Description of Something Obscene (Lacerated Enemy Records)

Edmonton based modern death metal quartet Protosequence will release ‘A Blunt Description of Something Obscene’ May 19th 2020 via Lacerated Enemy Records.

The group released the following statement about its new label home and the forthcoming EP:

We are very excited to announce our signing with Lacerated Enemy Records! Featuring a new vocalist [Josh Hahn], our new EP ‘A Blunt Description of Something Obscene’ marks a musical turning point in Protosequence. We can’t wait to hit the road, and see what our future with LE holds.

Protosequence are certainly cut from the modern cloth of tech death with a frantic and almost uncontrollable style of playing. This EP showcases not just their wild and fascinating abilities but also their talent for keeping the 4 main tracks listenable.

Take a deep breath, the opening track ‘Savagery in Fundamental Behaviours’ is tech metal chaos. An unbelievable showcase of what Protosequence can do. So, it is such a surprise to find the title track begin with slightly off-key melody and clean vocals as though a metalcore band has taken over.

It’s only when the deeper roars arrive and the melody begins to drop away that the Protosequence bedlam returns. If you thought the first track was heavy, this is something else.

No such slow build with Bleeding the Alienist and The Pale though, frantic guitar and bass playing from the very start, with barely a break for breath throughout. Backed up by drums that if you didn’t know any different, you’d believe weren’t coming from a human being. Complimented by vocals that are vicious enough to tear flesh from bone.

While the EP is 8 tracks long, it’s only actually 4 original tracks long. The second half are the same tracks as the first half but in instrumental form instead. An awesome way to really hear the guitars and drums in isolation. A nice bonus but you might find yourself missing the vocals.

Protosequence – A Blunt Description of Something Obscene Full Track Listing:

1. Savagery in Fundamental Behaviours
2. A Blunt Description of Something Obscene
3. Bleeding the Alienist (ft. Joe McKee)
4. The Pale
5. Savagery in Fundamental Behaviours (Instrumental)
6. A Blunt Description of Something Obscene(Instrumental)
7. Bleeding the Alienist (Instrumental)
8. The Pale (Instrumental)


Bandcamp | Big Cartel | Facebook | Instagram

Protosequence - A Blunt Description of Something Obscene (Lacerated Enemy Records)
  • The Final Score - 8/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)
Liked it? Take a second to support Carl 'The Disc' Fisher on Patreon!