EP Review: Parrilla – Dancefloor Messiah (Self Released)

Parrilla are an Industrial Rock/Metal outfit who combine many influences from different genres but mainly of Rammstein, Depeche Mode and The Sisters of Mercy. Formed in 2018 by Dani Messmer, the band quickly became more diverse with the inclusion of David Page, who provided a refreshing approach to the drums – making them stand out, and giving them the perfect feel. Soon after the Rhythm section was complete with the Fieldy/Flea like Bass playing brought in by Chris Howell (Former Spawn of Psychosis Guitarist and current solo project Razorrhead). Last but not least the band was joined by Luke Megran (Former Guitarist of Audrey Ripper) completing the bands line up and bringing his own unique character.

Parrilla released their EP ‘Dancefloor Messiah’ earlier this year.



6 tracks long; the second half being the same as the first but in instrumental form instead. Synth-groove, meaty and energetic, with a gothic vein running through it, is the opener Surrounded. A little bit sexy, a little bit sleazy and a hell of a lot boogie about it.

Take Me Away doubles down on the gothic metal vibes but with that strong industrial heartbeat still pumping away. Messmer’s vocals are really excellent here and the guitars really add dark depth to it. Before the title track wraps up the first half in a dance floor filling way. Fitting considering the title but one that totally makes sense as you can totally hear it blasting out of the speakers of a dark and hazy goth club. The industrial bounce is very catchy.

As previously said, the other three tracks are the same but instrumental only. A nice addition where you can hear a bit more detail in the guitars and percussion but I’d be lying if I didn’t say I missed the vocals.

Parrilla – Dancefloor Messiah Full Track Listing:

1. Surrounded
2. Take Me Away
3. Dancefloor Messiah
4. Surrounded (Instrumental)
5. Take Me Away (Instrumental)
6. Dancefloor Messiah (Instrumental)


 Bandcamp | Facebook | Instagram | YouTube

Parrilla - Dancefloor Messiah (Self Released)
  • The Final Score - 8.5/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)