Album Review: Devangelic – Ersetu (Willowtip Records)

Devangelic are back with their third full-length album Ersetu. Named after the Akkadian term for “Mesopotamian Underworld / Realm of the Dead,” Ersetu is a concept album based on the Annunaki’s myth “Those Who from Heaven to Earth Came.” The myth explores the theory of creation through the alien DNA, human slavery and the legend of the great serpent (the Knower) as the emblem of Enki and of two of his sons, Ningishzidda and Marduk.

The band comments on the album:

We worked hard during the past two years to create our best songs; the new effort is certainly our most brutal and mature material to date. The concept, music and lyrics represent a new chapter of the band’s career and on what Devangelic will move on with the future releases.

Willowtip Records will release Ersetu on May 15th 2020 on CD and digital formats.



A fascinating concept blended with a nasty and vehement showcase of blackened death metal, Devangelic spurt an aggressive set of tracks out for hungry fans to devour. Very few won’t lap the mess up hungrily as the 9 tracks of Ersetu drip in hostility, ferocity and mythical story-telling.

From the first note, Ersetu burns with righteous blackened death fire. Swarm of Serpents, Upon the Wrath of Divinities, Eyes of Abzu and Subterranean Revelations spat right into the faces of unfortunate victims.

It’s constantly face-smashing stuff, the drums played at such a frantic pace it almost seems inhuman. The vocals as devilish as Lucifer himself with only the occasional drawn out riff and atmospheric segment breaking up the monotony of it all.

Such as the brief druidic chanting that appears at the start of Embalmed in Visceral Fluids.

These are few and far between though as the main focus of this album is to pulverise and it is something it accomplishes through sheer constant power. Throne of Larvae, Vomiting the Infected, Sigils of Fallen Abominations and Cryptic Resurrection… absolutely no surprises here.

This is simply the epitome of brutality.

Devangelic – Ersetu Full Track Listing:

1. Swarm Of Serpents
2. Upon The Wrath Of Divinities
3. Eyes Of Abzu
4. Subterranean Revelations
5. Embalmed In Visceral Fluids
6. Throne Of Larvae
7. Vomiting The Infected
8. Sigils Of Fallen Abominations
9. Cryptic Resurrection


Bandcamp | Website | Facebook | Willowtip Records

Devangelic - Ersetu (Willowtip Records)
  • The Final Score - 7/10
User Review
0 (0 votes)